Sheffield Forum
Your message here

Help, I'm getting a new lap top!!

Home > General > Computer & Tech Chat

Reply To Topic
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
22-07-2013, 08:54   #1
STUNMON
Registered User
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Total Posts: 430
At the risk of all you computer wizz kids laughing at the old fogey!! I'm getting a new laptop next week which the nice men from the shop are setting up for me. I have only ever used a desk top and not terribly computer savvy!! Yes, I have Broadband!!
I know I need to put photos on to a memory stick from Picassa, likewise any documents I need to save but do I need to copy down all my email addresses or Facebook contacts? to transfer????
  Reply With Quote
22-07-2013, 10:19   #2
baz52
Registered User
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: S11
Total Posts: 136
As a rule of thumb back up anything you would miss if you lost it. Certainly keep a copy of your email addresses because if you had to re-install your operating system your email address book could well be blank. Enjoy your new laptop.
  Reply With Quote
22-07-2013, 11:27   #3
Ghozer
Are you a God!?
Ghozer's Avatar
 
Forum Helper
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: I live, Alone... Age: Too Old!
Total Posts: 12,069
Send a message via ICQ to Ghozer Send a message via AIM to Ghozer Send a message via MSN to Ghozer Send a message via Yahoo to Ghozer Send a message via Skype™ to Ghozer
Depends where your email contacts are, if you use gmail.com - they are saved on Gmail, and will be there regardless... same with FaceBook, those people are on the FaceBook website/server and you don't need to do anything except sign in to FaceBook on your new computer...

Likewise with Picassa, if they are up on the website, they will still be there...

it's only things in "My Documents" and "My Pictures" etc you need to manually transfer...
_______
Life is a tool, use it wisely and properly. Don't break it, because you can't exchange it if you do.
Life is an instrument, it needs regular cleaning, maintenance and tuning to keep it at its best.

Fear, is not knowing. Terror, is finding out.
  Reply With Quote
22-07-2013, 12:01   #4
spider1
Registered User
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Total Posts: 1,950
If its windows 8 good luck. horrible. Just had gosh convert my new samsung back to win 7. Now its great .
  Reply With Quote
22-07-2013, 13:45   #5
crown25
Registered User
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Total Posts: 13
hi there,
no your face book and emails are not stored in the computer its in thier servers so you dont need to back these up just access them as usual
thanks
  Reply With Quote
22-07-2013, 17:27   #6
me-and-pippo
Registered User
me-and-pippo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Heeley/Arbourthorne
Total Posts: 2,692
Quote:
Originally Posted by crown25 View Post
hi there,
no your face book and emails are not stored in the computer its in thier servers so you dont need to back these up just access them as usual
thanks
Incorrect.
I use Microsoft Outlook Express 6, and my address book and emails are stored on my computer.
_______
I started out with nothing
And I still have most of it.


sheffieldhistory.co.uk - polite & helpful
  Reply With Quote
22-07-2013, 19:00   #7
Paul Blade
Born a Blade
Paul Blade's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Sat here or somewhere else
Total Posts: 7,520
Like the above reply depending on what mail programme you use you will need all your email addresses (if you have more than 1) plus passwords you may (also) lose all your emails
Every programme that needs a username and password will also need to be remembered and perhaps written down
I believe that depending on what Email prog you have there are programmes you can use to copy your emails over (Mozilla Thunderbird uses MozBackup the one I use).
If you let us know what programme you use some one will be able to help you

If you need someone to give you a hand or advice I also live up in Stannington so don't hesitate to give me a shout
_______
A Friend will calm you down when you are angry but A Best Friend will skip beside you with a baseball bat singing "Someone's going to get it"
Sorry but sarcasm falls from my mouth, just like stupid falls from yours

Last edited by Paul Blade; 22-07-2013 at 21:14.
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
22-07-2013, 20:19   #8
swarfendor43
Registered User
swarfendor43's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Total Posts: 5,010
My first thought was:

New Laptop = Windows 8 - Noooooooooh!
  Reply With Quote
22-07-2013, 22:27   #9
AlexAtkin
Registered User
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: S14
Total Posts: 1,424
Send a message via AIM to AlexAtkin Send a message via MSN to AlexAtkin Send a message via Yahoo to AlexAtkin Send a message via Skype™ to AlexAtkin
Quote:
Originally Posted by spider1 View Post
If its windows 8 good luck. horrible. Just had gosh convert my new samsung back to win 7. Now its great .
You DO realise Windows 8 uses less RAM, less CPU power and is generally more efficient than Windows 7, right?

There are a lot of good improvements and most of the bad stuff (the annoying start screen) can be bypassed, leaving you with just the improvements.

Its silly to pay for a copy of Windows 7 (and illegal if you haven't) when Windows 8 works perfectly fine after a little tweaking.
_______
ISP: Origin Broadband Router: Intel DN2800MT (OpenWRT) Avg Speed: 66.6Mbit Exchange: Intake

Sheffield 3DS | Steam & XBOX: Alex Atkin UK | PSN & WiiU: AlexAtkinUK
  Reply With Quote
22-07-2013, 22:47   #10
Dardandec
Registered User
Dardandec's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Sheffield
Total Posts: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexAtkin View Post
You DO realise Windows 8 uses less RAM, less CPU power and is generally more efficient than Windows 7, right?

There are a lot of good improvements and most of the bad stuff (the annoying start screen) can be bypassed, leaving you with just the improvements.

Its silly to pay for a copy of Windows 7 (and illegal if you haven't) when Windows 8 works perfectly fine after a little tweaking.
Don't waste your breath mate
  Reply With Quote
22-07-2013, 23:27   #11
swarfendor43
Registered User
swarfendor43's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Total Posts: 5,010
Please do waste your breath Alex - tell me how to tweak (bonus of 10 points) without using the Power Shell as a fellow mod implied to me on Zorin. I 'might' just give it another whirl - just for the heck of it!
  Reply With Quote
23-07-2013, 03:04   #12
AlexAtkin
Registered User
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: S14
Total Posts: 1,424
Send a message via AIM to AlexAtkin Send a message via MSN to AlexAtkin Send a message via Yahoo to AlexAtkin Send a message via Skype™ to AlexAtkin
It depends what you disliked about it.

Personally it was being forced with WinRT instead of the start menu and all the default applications being WinRT rather than desktop.

The former I fixed with with Classic Shell and the latter I eventually figured there is actually a section for file associations where you can change them all back to desktop applications.

The only other difference I can think of is that the UI looks ugly without Aero glass, but its not something worth rolling back to Windows 7 about.
_______
ISP: Origin Broadband Router: Intel DN2800MT (OpenWRT) Avg Speed: 66.6Mbit Exchange: Intake

Sheffield 3DS | Steam & XBOX: Alex Atkin UK | PSN & WiiU: AlexAtkinUK
  Reply With Quote
23-07-2013, 10:25   #13
mimic
Registered User
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Total Posts: 217
You could use Microsoft Easy Transfer Wizard for the PC settings and files if you want. It works ok and takes a lot of the work out of it for you.

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/w...-easy-transfer

You can save to a drive or use your network. I think it works for XP onwards.
  Reply With Quote
Reply To Topic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT. The time now is 15:07.
POSTS ON THIS FORUM ARE NOT ACTIVELY MONITORED
Click "Report Post" under any post which may breach our terms of use.
©2002-2014 Sheffield Forum | Powered by vBulletin ©2014