LF Advice on setting up as Consultant

Hi All,

I'm not sure if anyone can help me but I often get good advice on these forums so I thought I'd take a chance.

I am currently working for Call Centre and have been the manager there for just over a decade. I have around 16 years experience withing the industry and am really wanting to set up my own consultancy business.

I have a lot of knowledge to share (although I am always searching for more) and it's something that I am confident I can succeed in.

I have a proven track record as I have gained experience from working with internal outsourcing partners in the past. The fear I have is that these companies were already partnered with the company I currently work for - acquiring my own clients is a whole new ball game (and outside my expertise).

Does anyone have any advice on how to attract new business clients or any tips on how to get started building up connections? Anything would be really helpful.

Thanks in advance

have you ever thought about these breakfast networking clubs?, I have joined the trades hub for sme in the construction trade.

I would suggest that you try taking a number of fixed term contracts. This will give you some exposure to a potential client base, and further increase your knowledge and range of experience.

I would suggest that you try taking a number of fixed term contracts. This will give you some exposure to a potential client base, and further increase your knowledge and range of experience.

I think that's good advice actually.

I set up my own consultancy 6 years ago. Not particularly by choice. But I was made redundant and had to find a way to generate my own income. It's very daunting, but if you have a network of companies/clients that you have done work for in the past and have a good reputation then that is a good starting point.

In my case I was fortunate to have worked for some of the biggest names in my industry. That is a real advantage.