Handsworth roundabout

Hey guys,

Sorry in advance for this bit of a rant. I'm a learner driver of about 10 months now. I had a bit of a bad lesson yesterday (2days before my 2nd test!). Anyway, I wanted to get people's opinions on this roundabout and the signs leading to it as my instructor made me feel a bit of a tit for getting confused. I would have added a link but I can't as a new user. I was basically traveling from town on Parkway and came off to head towards Handsworth roundabout.

My instructor said, "follow the signs to Handsworth". Looking at the signs, Handworth is on the right, here's me thinking "Ok, I'm going right on a roundabout let's signal right and move into the right-hand lane as I've done with every other roundabout I've ever been on". My instructor then proceeds to tell me (in a pretty condescending manner) that it's the left-hand lane for Handsworth roundabout.

Apart from the later road markings, which I couldn't see due to the pile up of traffic on the road, it's just not clear AT ALL that you use the left-hand lane for a right-hand turn.

Am I the only one or am I just getting confused due to inexperience?

I would greatly appreciate your opinions.

Links

https://www.google.co.uk/maps/@53.376748,-1.398988,3a,75y,44.93h,76.43t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1stjiCP_hGXQn2L22mlwzwDA!2e0!7i13312!8i6656

https://www.google.co.uk/maps/@53.377153,-1.398323,3a,75y,16.94h,76.89t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sMrqI29nGkAjhrEu3uKJN6g!2e0!7i13312!8i6656

https://www.google.co.uk/maps/@53.377497,-1.397756,3a,75y,44.93h,76.43t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sCa6YoMbTlwalMkPd3AvHkQ!2e0!7i13312!8i6656

You can use both lanes to turn right towards Handsworth.

If you know where you're going you will use the left hand lane, as after you exit the roundabout the right hand lane exit turns right again.

See this link for where this happens

https://www.google.co.uk/maps/@53.376062,-1.393806,3a,75y,166.42h,71.34t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1slLVHAVojYDmcF1r57dY3AQ!2e0!7i13312!8i6656