Psalter Tavern - Closed

Noticed its permanently closed. Anyone know whats happened with it?

It's up for sale for £950,000.

How sad.

Some good memories their a long time ago was rammed Friday and Saturday when it was a separate pub and hotel bar.Always felt they lost the public bar "feel" when they combined the two.

I am rather sad that this place has closed down.

Noticed its permanently closed. Anyone know whats happened with it?

I was a duty manager there until it closed, the place was a disgrace in my opinion, lots of issues that would never be dealt with by the powers that be, the writing was on the wall for a while, only allowing £300 a week budget for stock which essentially is around two barrels, £80 a week food budget, when the minimum order was £100. There was a hole in the roof of the main bar area which they never sorted, no heating in the pub area due to broken radiators.

The hotel rooms weren't up to much either, but I suppose for £30/£40 a night at timesyou couldn't expect The Ritz, its well worth a read of the trip advisor reviews!

BUt yeah closed over a month ago, staff were told that it would be closed for a week to ten days for a bit of maintenance, when what really happened was, we had no call from anyone just a P45 in the post and all staff made redundant. I feel sorry for the people that have booked rooms and paid deposits for parties in advance because I'll be surprised if they ever get anything back.

What are the plans for the building?

Has CAMRA said anything on the situation?

I guess the closure of the Uni Campus a few years ago had a knock on affect. They should turn it into a Real Ale pub