Sheffield Corporation Trams

In September 2015 it will be 60 years since I worked as a Conductor on Sheffield Corporation trams.

I was C219 and worked on the Crookes - Handsworth route out of Tinsley Depot, this employment was only for six months so I had no chance to officially achieve one of my ambition's to drive a Tram.

My Driver was a Fred Wakefield and I recall he had a son called Gordon, they were happy days and I did get to drive a Tram when on Nights, between Woodseats and Beauchief.

Is there anyone still around that worked on the Trams at that time.

Gordon England (Scarborough)

Hello England, although he did not drive a tram to my knowledge, my father Harry Gill drove Sheffield Corporation Buses in the early 1950's and knew a good few conductors. Do you recall that name?

My late uncle, Sydney Robinson, was a tram conductor in the 1950s. Public records show that Frederick G. Wakefield married Eva Nutt in Sheffield in 1941, and their son Gordon F. Wakefield was born in 1947. Fred Wakefield evidently died aged 90 in 2005.

Edited by hillsbro

Hi all another name for the pot John (Jack) Downing. Worked on the trams until there demise and then went on to be a bus conductor as he had no driving licence at that time.

My father-in-law was a tram driver. Bill Woffenden, known to one and all as 'whip-it-quick.'

Strange how little I know about my family history.

Early recollections of grandad (mums dad) must have been after he retired. He was always in the garden or doing some other mundane job Gran would find for him.

Anyway, I remember the story (vaguely) of his either return from or journey to work after the Sheffield blitz.

He too was a tram conductor during the war years.

Are there any records available of such as Tram Drivers and other Sheffield Transport staff !

My wife's maternal Grandfather, Ernest Fidler, was a tram driver, probably during the period

1900 - 1930.

My Uncle Mark Robinson was a Bus Conductor, 1945 - 1951.