Another house issue! cracks in walls

i seem to have issues with my 1930's house in handsworth all the time :(

i have now noticed cracks in one of the bedrooms after removing some wallpaper.

the cracks dont seem to follow a certain pattern but there is one in the corner of the party wall which is clearer than most. this is a diagonal crack.

i dont think the walls and plaster has been touched for a long long time. the lady i bought it off had not modernised it at all and still had woodchip wallpaper.

i have had a look at the brick work and it doesnt appear to have a crack but its really stressing me out! :(

i understand that settlement and movement occurs over time and the only real way to put my mind at rest is to get a structural engineer to have a look but we simply do not have the money to pay for that?

can anyone provide any advise? or if there is a structural engineer out there who is kind enough to have a look please let me know! :(

I am not an expert, but how wide are the cracks? We also have a 1930's house and there are cracks all over - even in new plaster which we had done in the kitchen. To be honest, if they are cracks like mine, just hairline ones, I wouldn't worry too much. Again, I am no expert though!

they are not that wide. approximately 1mm to 1.5mm but its the diagonal aspect that i am worried about as research tells me that this could be subsidence. i really hope not.

:) Hi I live S13 and dont think its realy a subsidence area . if there are no cracks in bwk everything seems okay. one of my ceilings has a right crack in it and house is only 20yrs old [phg] All houses have settlement and shrinkage that cause plaster cracks /Even houses with cracks in bwk can usually be remedied fairly easy / a bricktor mesh across crack IF you bought house on a mortgage i am sure surveyor would have picked any problems like this up :)

hi chris. im on the other end near the white rose

hi spider