Sheffield Forum

CCTV recommendations

Home > Sheffield > Sheffield Property & Housing

Reply To Topic
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
19-08-2005, 09:08   #1
oggy
Registered User
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Total Posts: 27
I am looking to buy a couple of external security cameras for House I have had a look in Maplins and I am going to try the place on Shalesmoor. However I am not sure on spec and things what is good quality just wondered if anybody knows this or has some that they can recommend. Thinking of getting hard drive not sure how many hours these record this is so I donít have to mess about with tapes etc. I wanted it to record on movement so take it I need PIR detectors? the cameras I have looked at donít have PIRs on them so is this something related to hard drive or can I buy them separate or do I need t in built. If a hard drive can record for days then I won't be bothered about movement detectors. If anyone can give any advice or has got some good ones and can tell me where to go or buy please help.
  Reply With Quote
19-08-2005, 09:50   #2
cgksheff
Registered User
cgksheff's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Total Posts: 21,949
I haven't got the references to hand but I am sure that there is some stuff on here already if you can search a bit.
I am also fairly sure that you can use software that will only record when movement is detected.
You are going to need some form of IR illumination though.


Here is a start.

Last edited by cgksheff; 19-08-2005 at 09:56.
  Reply With Quote
19-08-2005, 10:54   #3
Hippy
Registered User
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Sheffield
Total Posts: 117
B&Q and Homebase sell a range of micromark cameras.

The quality is okay. I don't think they do hard drive type ones, however they do sell ones that are movement activated and record to tape only on activation (with IR too). That's about £80.

I used it on our house when we went away for three months and I was pleased with the result. (lots of footage of the postman !! but also no end of people I don't know - funny that).
  Reply With Quote
19-08-2005, 11:05   #4
steevie/d
Registered User
steevie/d's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: sheffield
Total Posts: 762
hi ya oggy

try the ad.mag we had a cc.tv fitted with a firm from manchester they advertise in ad.mag its got infra red built in works well at nite in black and white we also fitted a small security light to boost the image you are better going with b&w for a sharper image we have already prosicuted the scumbag who was vandalising my car hope this helps best of luck with it steve,,,
  Reply With Quote
19-08-2005, 11:45   #5
Lurch
Registered User
Lurch's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Sheffield
Total Posts: 1,382
Send a message via ICQ to Lurch Send a message via AIM to Lurch Send a message via MSN to Lurch Send a message via Yahoo to Lurch
Don't bother with Maplins\B&Q etc... as the cameras are all quite frankly, ****e.

My recomendations would be a Samsung day\night camera and housing (I'll come back with model number when I remember it!) or a decent day\night anti vandal dome. As these are professional products they don't come with "easy fit connectors" and "built in IR LED's" so you would need to sort out cabling and possibly additional illumination, either some security lighting or IR lighting.

For the activation you don't need PIR's, if you did the only decent ones I would recommend would be Redwalls but they cost a fortune, but are the proper kit for the job. The activation for timer\alarm\motion recording is done on the software on the PC\DVR at the internal end of the setup and works by comparing pixels in the picture and starts recording or triggers an alarm output for bells\lights when something on the screen moves.

When you say hard drive do you mean you are going to connect it to a PC or do you mean a complete seperate digital video recorder just for the cameras. If so, a reasonable entry level DVR will record for appx. 5-7 days at a decent quality and framerate on a 160Gb hard disk.

Have you got a budget for this and an idea of what you want to achieve with the system?
_______
Stu, all round nice bloke.
  Reply With Quote
19-08-2005, 15:22   #6
oggy
Registered User
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Total Posts: 27
Thanks for the info I will look at in more depth later. I am thinking of hard drive specific for cameras not on PC. Budget not sure if I could get the lot for £500 including 2 cameras and hard drive any other bits etc. what you think?
  Reply With Quote
20-08-2005, 02:10   #7
Lurch
Registered User
Lurch's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Sheffield
Total Posts: 1,382
Send a message via ICQ to Lurch Send a message via AIM to Lurch Send a message via MSN to Lurch Send a message via Yahoo to Lurch
I would allow probably another £2-300 for the equipment, but that will depend on what exactly you settle for and what the site specifics are for the cable required etc.... Fitting by a professional installer, such as myself , would be in addition to this. This would be the budget for the cameras and recording equipment, the lighting required would be on top of the above guide prices.
_______
Stu, all round nice bloke.
  Reply With Quote
21-08-2005, 00:49   #8
mini
Registered User
mini's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Total Posts: 26
i got a pci card and put it in the pc myself, it cost £50, the camera was £80 and is a colour infra red one which i stood outside on a window ledge. the power adapter thingy came with the camera and the software came with the pci card. I set it up and left it on motion detect and if anything happened i went through the video files to see what had been going off when i wasn`t home. It did the job i wanted it to rather cheaply as well, the only irritating thing was that i only had a 40gb hard drive in the pc so every few days i had to check there was enough space left or delete some files, on occasions i burnt some to rewriteable discs first to make sure i wasn`t wiping anything i would need later. I got the lot mail order but later found all the same stuff in maplins.
  Reply With Quote
04-04-2006, 09:42   #9
willman
WYSIWYG
willman's Avatar
 
Moderator
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: north east derbyshire
Total Posts: 18,815
Send a message via ICQ to willman Send a message via MSN to willman
couldnt find any other posts on this.
i am interested in setting security cameras up outside my home.
How easy or costly is it to have them linked to a pc & not to a vcr.
monitoring them whilst working would be a benefit but also using the hd as a storage medium whilst on vacation etc.

any help would be welcomed.
  Reply With Quote
04-04-2006, 10:09   #10
Cyclone
Registered User
Cyclone's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Wadlsey
Total Posts: 65,992
If it's just one camera, especially if it's a web cam, then it's very easy and free. I have one watching my driveway right now and taking a snapshot when it detects motion.

If you want to do it properly, it's still not too expensive.
Computer shopper did a whole article on this last month (I think, or maybe this month). Reviewing quite a few proper cctv cameras for both daylight and night performance, reviewing several capture cards for the pcs and a bunch of standalone capture devices.

The biggest hastle (IMO) is getting it all wired up, wireless is an option, but a battery powered cctv camera won't last long, so you still need power to the location for the camera.
_______
Ask yourself, what would Chuck Norris do?
Youtube videos, snowboarding, climbing, bad drivers.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmn...qpXEZMGnJHf3Wg
  Reply With Quote
04-04-2006, 10:19   #11
Strix
Registered User
Strix's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: SF of course!
Total Posts: 32,574
That would be useful for friday and saturday nights round here

I get fed up of having to go and see what the dog is shaving off at several times through the evening. Being able to just switch windows on the laptop would be really handy
  Reply With Quote
04-04-2006, 10:21   #12
Cyclone
Registered User
Cyclone's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Wadlsey
Total Posts: 65,992
It would be harder to implement on a laptop, with it being impossible to add most expansion cards, although you can get a few usb/pcmcia capture cards, they are designed more for watching tv/transferring video from camcorder.
_______
Ask yourself, what would Chuck Norris do?
Youtube videos, snowboarding, climbing, bad drivers.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmn...qpXEZMGnJHf3Wg
  Reply With Quote
04-04-2006, 10:53   #13
Strix
Registered User
Strix's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: SF of course!
Total Posts: 32,574
bearing in mind I'm useless with technology ....
Can I run the webcam via the PC, then see it through the wireless network on the laptop?
  Reply With Quote
04-04-2006, 11:05   #14
Cyclone
Registered User
Cyclone's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Wadlsey
Total Posts: 65,992
Probably. It depends on how much trouble you want to go too.

You can get a freeware webcam program called webcam2000 I think which I know has a built in webserver.
This would let you browse the output (updated about once a second) from your laptop via internet explorer.
_______
Ask yourself, what would Chuck Norris do?
Youtube videos, snowboarding, climbing, bad drivers.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmn...qpXEZMGnJHf3Wg
  Reply With Quote
04-04-2006, 11:07   #15
Strix
Registered User
Strix's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: SF of course!
Total Posts: 32,574
sounds like just the thing

Does that mean other people can see it though? or will it have passwords?
  Reply With Quote
04-04-2006, 11:08   #16
Cyclone
Registered User
Cyclone's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Wadlsey
Total Posts: 65,992
you can set it up with a password, and you can also setup your router to firewall your network, so that no one on the internet should be able to see it.
_______
Ask yourself, what would Chuck Norris do?
Youtube videos, snowboarding, climbing, bad drivers.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmn...qpXEZMGnJHf3Wg
  Reply With Quote
04-04-2006, 12:16   #17
Cynic
Registered User
Cynic's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Total Posts: 2,892
I had one setup using possibly the same software as mentioned above that would let me view it from any pc with internet access. It really is simpler than it sounds. the most difficult part is getting the camera in a sensible place and linked to the computer. Then you just sign up for something like no-ip.com and forward the correct port on you router to your PC. The port is setup in the web cam software.
  Reply With Quote
04-04-2006, 12:18   #18
Cyclone
Registered User
Cyclone's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Wadlsey
Total Posts: 65,992
I use no-ip.com as well.
Although i've now gone for tomcat and having seperate software that captures images to a folder, and a webapp that generates thumbnails from those images and generates a gallery to view them.

To solve the location problem, I got a wireless webcam for £50 from ebay, so the webcam sits in the attic room looking out of the window.
_______
Ask yourself, what would Chuck Norris do?
Youtube videos, snowboarding, climbing, bad drivers.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmn...qpXEZMGnJHf3Wg
  Reply With Quote
04-04-2006, 13:27   #19
willman
WYSIWYG
willman's Avatar
 
Moderator
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: north east derbyshire
Total Posts: 18,815
Send a message via ICQ to willman Send a message via MSN to willman
so basically what would i need.
webcam - or external cam.
power supply to cam won't be an issue.
what software would you recommend.
we dont have any security issues to warrant massive expense.
can a retard like me,figure out port numbers etc or should i get someone in?
  Reply With Quote
04-04-2006, 13:40   #20
Cyclone
Registered User
Cyclone's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Wadlsey
Total Posts: 65,992
Remember that a bog standard web cam isn't going to give you great resolution.
It won't be good enough to identify a face unless the are less than a few metres away.

For an example of what you can expect from a webcam, take a look at this;
http://cyclone.servehttp.com/cam/Mot...e%29%20236.jpg

to be fair, that's a bit worse than normal, looks like i need to refocus the camera... But you get the idea, and that's from the 3rd story window (glass might be dirty after the recent rain), so probably about 50 metres to the grey granada you can see.

The free software is okay, but the stuff that comes with the dedicated capture cards is much better. For example, this detects motion across the whole image, the dedicated stuff lets you define areas that you want to watch and a dedicated camera should be able to get a better picture, and maybe even have auto focus...
_______
Ask yourself, what would Chuck Norris do?
Youtube videos, snowboarding, climbing, bad drivers.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmn...qpXEZMGnJHf3Wg
  Reply With Quote
Reply To Topic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:51.
POSTS ON THIS FORUM ARE NOT ACTIVELY MONITORED
Click "Report Post" under any post which may breach our terms of use.
©2002-2014 Sheffield Forum | Powered by vBulletin ©2017