Outer Circle (2/59) bus route in 2003

Hello folks.

There are a few other threads on this forum going back through the years talking about the now discontinued Inner / Outer Circle bus routes.

In October 2003, when I was a student, I persuaded a friend to buy an all day ticket with me and go (almost) the whole way, from West Street to Hilsborough via bloody everywhere in between.

I happened to have my first digital camera at the time, and as quickly as it could cope (with a 10 second pause to think after each photo) I tried to record the journey.

I'm now working on making a little photo-book of these snaps. They're becoming more of an historical artefact with every year.

I was wondering if anyone could post or share a map (presumably SYPTE rather than First) of the route we would have taken around about that time? There is a scan of a much older map on the forums, but that dates from when it was a full circle, rather than the 300º (ish) circle it was when we took it.

Many thanks. :D

Which route did u do was it 2 or 59

Edited by bus man

I think it was 59. Glossop Road (outbound) then anticlockwise to Hilsborough. I took a pic of the bus after arriving in Hilsborough, and the banner shows 59 Eccleshall, although I'm not sure if that had already been changed for the next run.

Thanks

Here is a link to a 1950s fare table showing fare stages on the original (2/3) route. From Malin Bridge the No 2 buses went up Rivelin Valley and the No 3 came down the valley. In 1970 the complete circle was broken, with Rivelin Valley (the section that had carried least passengers) being missed out. From 1970 onwards the 2/59 route started from Malin Bridge and continued along most of the original circle to Crosspool. Changes were made in the 1980s/90s, and for a time the route was between Malin Bridge and Ecclesall / Banner Cross, though the section from Malin Bridge to Shiregreen remained unchanged (a diversion to include Meadowhall was made when this bus station opened).