Sheffield Forum
Your message here

Display port versus vga

Home > General > Computer & Tech Chat

Reply To Topic
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
16-02-2017, 20:14   #1
Firparnian
Registered User
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Total Posts: 553
just got a new computer which has a display port and a vga port.
My monitor has vga divx and hdmi inputs.
Would I be correct in thinking I would get best quality by using display port with an adaptor to hdmi
  Reply With Quote
16-02-2017, 20:21   #2
Ghozer
Are you a God!?
Ghozer's Avatar
 
Forum Helper
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: I live, Alone... Age: Too Old!
Total Posts: 14,026
Send a message via ICQ to Ghozer Send a message via AIM to Ghozer Send a message via MSN to Ghozer Send a message via Yahoo to Ghozer Send a message via Skype™ to Ghozer
VGA will handle up to 1080p without an issue, you really only need Display Port / HDMI if you're looking at passing audio to it - or you have no other option...
_______
Life is a tool, use it wisely and properly. Don't break it, because you can't exchange it if you do.
Life is an instrument, it needs regular cleaning, maintenance and tuning to keep it at its best.

Fear, is not knowing. Terror, is finding out.
  Reply With Quote
16-02-2017, 20:36   #3
Firparnian
Registered User
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Total Posts: 553
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghozer View Post
VGA will handle up to 1080p without an issue, you really only need Display Port / HDMI if you're looking at passing audio to it - or you have no other option...
Cheers Ghozer
  Reply With Quote
16-02-2017, 21:45   #4
The Joker
Registered User
The Joker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Elizabeth Arkham Asylum for the Criminally Insane
Total Posts: 3,872
from my experience, digital video gives better quality than analog vga.

If your monitor supports DVI then I think it's worth spending a few quid on a DisplayPort to DVI adapter and DVI to DVI cable.
_______
I wanted to question Our Nige' and BoJo the Clown about the 350million a week promised to our NHS, but the pair of cowards quit the political arena
  Reply With Quote
16-02-2017, 22:21   #5
Cyclone
Registered User
Cyclone's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Wadlsey
Total Posts: 66,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghozer View Post
VGA will handle up to 1080p without an issue, you really only need Display Port / HDMI if you're looking at passing audio to it - or you have no other option...
The fact that you convert a digital output to analog and back again will reduce quality though.
_______
Ask yourself, what would Chuck Norris do?
Youtube videos, snowboarding, climbing, bad drivers.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmn...qpXEZMGnJHf3Wg
  Reply With Quote
17-02-2017, 00:15   #6
Ghozer
Are you a God!?
Ghozer's Avatar
 
Forum Helper
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: I live, Alone... Age: Too Old!
Total Posts: 14,026
Send a message via ICQ to Ghozer Send a message via AIM to Ghozer Send a message via MSN to Ghozer Send a message via Yahoo to Ghozer Send a message via Skype™ to Ghozer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclone View Post
The fact that you convert a digital output to analog and back again will reduce quality though.
not noticeable for general use - only really when you get to pro usage levels, like CAD and graphic design etc...
_______
Life is a tool, use it wisely and properly. Don't break it, because you can't exchange it if you do.
Life is an instrument, it needs regular cleaning, maintenance and tuning to keep it at its best.

Fear, is not knowing. Terror, is finding out.
  Reply With Quote
17-02-2017, 00:17   #7
Obelix
Registered User
Obelix's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Total Posts: 11,343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclone View Post
The fact that you convert a digital output to analog and back again will reduce quality though.
Not withstanding it's a 30 year old standard this year too....

Displayport/HDMI will certainly give you a clearer signal and image and has a much higher bandwidth.
  Reply With Quote
17-02-2017, 00:46   #8
Ghozer
Are you a God!?
Ghozer's Avatar
 
Forum Helper
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: I live, Alone... Age: Too Old!
Total Posts: 14,026
Send a message via ICQ to Ghozer Send a message via AIM to Ghozer Send a message via MSN to Ghozer Send a message via Yahoo to Ghozer Send a message via Skype™ to Ghozer
you dont need to convert Display port to hdmi/dvi though, it's much easier to go DVI <> HDMI! (and cheaper for the adaptors, in my experience)
_______
Life is a tool, use it wisely and properly. Don't break it, because you can't exchange it if you do.
Life is an instrument, it needs regular cleaning, maintenance and tuning to keep it at its best.

Fear, is not knowing. Terror, is finding out.
  Reply With Quote
17-02-2017, 07:29   #9
Firparnian
Registered User
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Total Posts: 553
I already have DVI and HDMI cables so it's just an adapter I need .
Is there any advantage in one or the other, computer is used for photo editing.
  Reply With Quote
17-02-2017, 07:31   #10
Cyclone
Registered User
Cyclone's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Wadlsey
Total Posts: 66,853
Electronically interchangeable if it's DVI-D and HDMI I believe, so no difference.
_______
Ask yourself, what would Chuck Norris do?
Youtube videos, snowboarding, climbing, bad drivers.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmn...qpXEZMGnJHf3Wg
  Reply With Quote
17-02-2017, 11:35   #11
The Joker
Registered User
The Joker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Elizabeth Arkham Asylum for the Criminally Insane
Total Posts: 3,872
you have a DVI monitor, so purchase a DisplayPort to DVI adapter, and a DVI to DVI cable.

Shouldn't set you back more than a tenner, and will offer sharper and clearer output than standard VGA.

A must for photo editing, where you're staring close up at the screen all day.
_______
I wanted to question Our Nige' and BoJo the Clown about the 350million a week promised to our NHS, but the pair of cowards quit the political arena
  Reply With Quote
17-02-2017, 12:18   #12
Bonjon
Registered User
Bonjon's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Total Posts: 7,236
Don't use DP to VGA, you will end up with a much poorer picture, keep it digital.
_______
Reformed
  Reply With Quote
17-02-2017, 12:34   #13
Firparnian
Registered User
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Total Posts: 553
Thanks for the responses everybody, will get an adapter ordered
  Reply With Quote
04-03-2017, 20:19   #14
chipfork
Registered User
 
Joined: Jul 2016
Total Posts: 12
I've probably caught this thread a little late.

If you have a VGA cable then use that, you'll not notice the difference unless you're running something that's really pushing the graphics limits. If you do want to buy an adapter then I'd recommend a DisplayPort to HDMI, I use a lot of the StarTech kit and that works well.

At work my laptop is docked with two monitors, one screen uses a DisplayPort to DisplayPort adapter, the other monitor only has VGA and HDMI and I haven't a spare adapter so I just use VGA. They sit side by side, I'm mainly using Office apps, some web development and dashboards and I can't see any difference in the display.

At home I use one DP to DP monitor and the other I use a DP to HDMI StartTech adapter to an HDMI TV/Monitor. That setup works fine.
  Reply With Quote
04-03-2017, 21:29   #15
Firparnian
Registered User
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Total Posts: 553
Thanks everybody, all sorted now. I got a Display port to hdmi cable
  Reply With Quote
Reply To Topic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:37.
POSTS ON THIS FORUM ARE NOT ACTIVELY MONITORED
Click "Report Post" under any post which may breach our terms of use.
©2002-2014 Sheffield Forum | Powered by vBulletin ©2017