Blacklisted workers

For a while now I've been following the story of workers that had been illegally blacklisted by 44 of UKs biggest construction firms in the UK for the last 30 years.

At first the companies denied they ever held such a blacklist. Evidence has emerged that the police and state security services supplied information to all the big construction firms.

Such evidence included membership of trade unions; personal information about themselves, families and relationships.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/2012/mar/03/blacklisted-building-workers-court-hopes

If this gross human rights abuse isn't bad enough, at a peaceful demonstration by trade unions, a 64 year old electrician and campaigner Mr George Tapp was dragged on to a car bonnet for over 100 metres before being flung to the ground by a car driver:

"One recalled it being like “slow motion” describing the driver as abusive and pushing his car against Mr Tapp before punching the car into full throttle propelling the 64 year old and two colleagues on to the bonnet.

Further anger has been caused by statements made by Chief Supt Russ Jackson claiming that CCTV footage showed the protesters climbing on to

the car bonnet.

Four witnesses have come forward to tell me that this did not take place and it was the force of the car itself that pushed Mr Tapp on to the bonnet before the car sped away.

The Chief Supt. also suggested the car drove away “slowly” which considering Mr Tapp’s injuries seems highly dubious as does the claim that a 64 year old climbed on a car bonnet in the first place."

http://industrialreporter.wordpress.com/2013/05/17/the-campaign-against-blacklisting-will-not-go-away/

As the report in the link states the lack of sympathy on behalf of police for Mr Tapp is shocking though perhaps unsurprising.