Sheffield Forum
Your message here

Anybody know the radio code for a Citroen Saxo

Home > General > General Discussions

Reply To Topic
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
15-11-2009, 11:00   #1
B.Jones
Registered User
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Sheffield
Total Posts: 13
Hey, i recently changed the battery on my saxo and now the radio is not working.

If anyone could tell me the radio code that would be really appreciated.

Ciroen saxo, 1.1, 2001

Please

thank you
  Reply With Quote
15-11-2009, 11:16   #2
_johnnyb_
Registered User
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Total Posts: 186
You do understand that each radio has a different code?

If you have the drivers pack the code should be in there, often it's printed on a credit card sized slip.
  Reply With Quote
15-11-2009, 11:22   #3
Gogetter
Registered User
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Over your shoulder
Total Posts: 253
PM me. I will try to help you, but I need more information from the radio chassis.
Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
15-11-2009, 12:28   #4
dumpling
Registered User
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Total Posts: 509
mine is 3426 if that helps
  Reply With Quote
15-11-2009, 16:30   #5
Miss M
Registered User
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: S6
Total Posts: 709
they are all unique like a pin number..
  Reply With Quote
15-11-2009, 16:41   #6
shanes teeth
Registered User
 
Joined: May 2008
Total Posts: 5,993
I used to have a 2001 Saxo 1.1 .The radio code was 8842.I suppose there is a remote chance that it used to be my car (unless you've had it from new) Let me know if it works.
  Reply With Quote
15-11-2009, 16:42   #7
shinyhappy68
Registered User
shinyhappy68's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: "In a world of mi own"
Total Posts: 2,053
I had a nightmare trying to get mine from Evans Halshaw, (which was last resort), easier and cheaper for me to buy new CD player, which I did. XX
_______
Fully qualified JOINER with over 10 years experience and 100% customer satisfsction. CSCS registered. For all your building and home improvement needs call Shaun on 07403909953
  Reply With Quote
15-11-2009, 17:27   #8
Dick
Registered User
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Total Posts: 903
Graysons on Ulverston Rd can find the code for you.
  Reply With Quote
16-11-2009, 08:26   #9
shaznay
*fabulous*
shaznay's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: in a nice place
Total Posts: 14,728
This happened to me when I changed the battery on my ford focus, how bloody annoying
Been told by ford will cost £17.50 to get it
  Reply With Quote
16-11-2009, 08:57   #10
Frohike
Registered User
Frohike's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Between the Devil and the deep blue sea.
Total Posts: 1,010
In the 'old' days you could wrap your player in cling film and a towel and put the whole thing in the freezer overnight, and that would clear having to put a code in. I don't know if that still works on todays players though?
_______
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.
  Reply With Quote
16-11-2009, 09:00   #11
Oddgitt
Registered User
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Total Posts: 977
You can buy the codes from the internet. google it. We've done it a few times when buying cd units for ford which we used to swap over between our vans and car quite often. Think we got them off ebay for a couple of quid.
_______
I've got a badge, but I'm not a badger....
  Reply With Quote
16-11-2009, 09:15   #12
alex3659
Registered User
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Total Posts: 23,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frohike View Post
In the 'old' days you could wrap your player in cling film and a towel and put the whole thing in the freezer overnight, and that would clear having to put a code in. I don't know if that still works on todays players though?
Did you marinate it aswell?
  Reply With Quote
16-11-2009, 09:28   #13
Oddgitt
Registered User
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Total Posts: 977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frohike View Post
In the 'old' days you could wrap your player in cling film and a towel and put the whole thing in the freezer overnight, and that would clear having to put a code in. I don't know if that still works on todays players though?
HAHAHA! How do people find these things out?!
_______
I've got a badge, but I'm not a badger....
  Reply With Quote
16-11-2009, 12:09   #14
Frohike
Registered User
Frohike's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Between the Devil and the deep blue sea.
Total Posts: 1,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oddgitt View Post
HAHAHA! How do people find these things out?!
Haha I know what you mean!
_______
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.
  Reply With Quote
16-11-2009, 12:10   #15
Frohike
Registered User
Frohike's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Between the Devil and the deep blue sea.
Total Posts: 1,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex3659 View Post
Did you marinate it aswell?
Of course, in a little balsamic vinegar
_______
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.
  Reply With Quote
16-11-2009, 12:17   #16
zongamin
Account Closed
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Total Posts: 1,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frohike View Post
In the 'old' days you could wrap your player in cling film and a towel and put the whole thing in the freezer overnight, and that would clear having to put a code in. I don't know if that still works on todays players though?
It is an urban myth

The myth:

“Putting a stereo in the freezer wipes the security code.”

The truth:
Another long-running rumour. When the first-ever security-coded radio arrived in the Eighties, someone found the memory could be wiped if it was subjected to temperatures below -20 degrees Centigrade. Then, any code could be entered and the stereo would work.

But DC Elliott said: “The manufacturer quickly fixed the problem and it hasn’t worked on that or any other stereo since. This hasn’t stopped people still trying it, though. And doing this mostly results in another part of the stereo – usually the LCD display or CD player – breaking and rendering
the whole unit worthless.”

Last edited by zongamin; 16-11-2009 at 12:19.
  Reply With Quote
16-11-2009, 12:24   #17
alex3659
Registered User
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Total Posts: 23,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frohike View Post
In the 'old' days you could wrap your player in cling film and a towel and put the whole thing in the freezer overnight, and that would clear having to put a code in. I don't know if that still works on todays players though?
When you open the freezer the next day the radio will be working full blast to the music of "skiing in the snow" by wigans ovation.
  Reply With Quote
24-11-2009, 12:55   #18
Frohike
Registered User
Frohike's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Between the Devil and the deep blue sea.
Total Posts: 1,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by zongamin View Post
It is an urban myth

The myth:

“Putting a stereo in the freezer wipes the security code.”

The truth:
Another long-running rumour. When the first-ever security-coded radio arrived in the Eighties, someone found the memory could be wiped if it was subjected to temperatures below -20 degrees Centigrade. Then, any code could be entered and the stereo would work.

But DC Elliott said: “The manufacturer quickly fixed the problem and it hasn’t worked on that or any other stereo since. This hasn’t stopped people still trying it, though. And doing this mostly results in another part of the stereo – usually the LCD display or CD player – breaking and rendering
the whole unit worthless.”
I don't know about this myth lark, but I know it worked for my Phillips player out of my Astra! Try reading all of my post!
_______
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.

Last edited by Frohike; 24-11-2009 at 12:57. Reason: Missed abit!
  Reply With Quote
05-01-2013, 14:56   #19
samuelwatson
Registered User
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Total Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gogetter View Post
PM me. I will try to help you, but I need more information from the radio chassis.
Thanks.
Hi there. I've just come along this thread in a google search.

Are you still able to help with this problem? I've taken my radio out and got the serial number but the internet is wanting to charge £18 to make it work, and as can be seen on here, cheaper radios are out there....
  Reply With Quote
05-01-2013, 15:48   #20
denomis
Registered User
denomis's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: In your face.
Total Posts: 5,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by zongamin View Post
It is an urban myth

The myth:

“Putting a stereo in the freezer wipes the security code.”

The truth:
Another long-running rumour. When the first-ever security-coded radio arrived in the Eighties, someone found the memory could be wiped if it was subjected to temperatures below -20 degrees Centigrade. Then, any code could be entered and the stereo would work.

But DC Elliott said: “The manufacturer quickly fixed the problem and it hasn’t worked on that or any other stereo since. This hasn’t stopped people still trying it, though. And doing this mostly results in another part of the stereo – usually the LCD display or CD player – breaking and rendering
the whole unit worthless.”
It's not a myth if it did actually work at one point.
  Reply With Quote
Reply To Topic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:18.
POSTS ON THIS FORUM ARE NOT ACTIVELY MONITORED
Click "Report Post" under any post which may breach our terms of use.
©2002-2014 Sheffield Forum | Powered by vBulletin ©2014