Hi all,

I am a student looking for accomodation for my next University year. I am looking into Broom Hall because it is close to the Uni of Sheffield. And I was just wondering what people thought of the BroomHall area?

And are there any plans to re-generate the area?

Regards,

Michael

Hi Micheal,

Broomhall is okay. I have several friends who have lived there in Student accomadation which is usually very nice. However a few (and only a few) have told me they encountered some kind of trouble in the area realting to fights and items being stolen from houses.

I think this is general in many city area.

I would suggest that maybe Broomhill is a much safer but and just up the rd and still very very close to the Uni. Plus it has a really good student base with excellent shops and pubs.

Sorry to burst the 'Biggin up' of Broomhall Bubble, but I read in the paper last year that an 18yr old male who was a student at Sheffield and walking through Broomhall one evening was attacked and raped by two males. I realise that this could happen anywhere, but it would put me off living there!

Broomhall has a seriously bad rep'! My advice would be to stick to Broomhill, Crookes and Ecclesall Road student areas!

Just My opinion!

Originally posted by "Fire|Storm"

Hi all,

I am a student looking for accomodation for my next University year. I am looking into Broom Hall because it is close to the Uni of Sheffield. And I was just wondering what people thought of the BroomHall area?

And are there any plans to re-generate the area?

Regards,

Michael

Michael if you were my son I'd say take a look at the previous posters recommendations. Broomhall by day looks OK but doesn't have a very good reputation.

I lived in Broomhall in my final year and never had any problems at all. think it depends where in Broomhall you live...we were right near the university which i think is the nicer part of broomhall anyway, its the eccelsall end that you need to be careful about