Beginner's guide to camping. What do I need? Where do I start?

How do.

I'm wanting to take up camping. I'm new to it all and obviously I know I need a tent. I was wondering if any of you lovely people could advise on what else I may need. Is there anywhere that does starter kits for instance. It will just be for me and I'm wanting to just try it out in the Peaks somewhere.

One other thing is the legal side of camping. Am I right in thinking I can't just plonk myself in a field out in the Peaks somewhere? Are there special sites put aside? Can you recommend a good site?

Many thanks in anticipation of all your answers.

Hi Halfords do starter kits,not the best kit but ok for your 1st time camping.

Tent 2x sleeping bags,mats and lamps about £99 (not sure of the exact price )

Answer to your question regarding plonking yourself in a field,is no you have to get the land owners permission,but there are lots of nice camp sites out in the Peak District.

Happy Camping..

I'd recommend getting a slightly bigger berth tent as it gives you more storage room etc. We started with a 5 berth for 4 of us and now have a 10 berth. :-)

Get a caravan, much easier, pull up and start enjoying, no faffing putting tents up, and you can cook meals loads easier.

Costs a little more cash to start up but well worth it.

IMO of course.

You probably won't want to spend to much money when starting out, just in case you don't like it.

Decathlon have a good range of cheap tents and camping gear.. Gooutdoors also stock a range of tents and camping equip.

For the bare basics you will need:

Tent: Either a pop up tent or a back packing tent may fit the bill, depending on how much walking your going to do.

Sleeping bag: Make sure it will keep you warm on cold nights

Sleeping mat/air bed: essential as they insulate you from the floor

Pillow/inflatable pillow

Camping towel

Basic toiletries

Toilet paper

Torch

For cooking: