Camping stoves for backpackers, gas, meths or even solid fuel?

Of the backpackers here (I know we have a few) what sort of stove do you use, and why?

Since providing my own gear I've used small gas stoves much like this one: http://www.gooutdoors.co.uk/coleman-f1-spirit-camping-stove-p118556

I have some limited experience with Trangia style meths burners but they seem quite bulky in comparison to the small gas burners.

Reading a piece on lightweight meths stoves I wondered which you prefer.... ?

Do you end up using yours much?

I always wish I could fit a stove into the backpack, it must be nice to just pull it out and be able to cook your own meals where ever you are.

Sorry for the lack of help here.

I use it every evening for supper and in the morning for breakfast. Best way to end a day with a warm mean on the hills before crawling into bag/tent. Same with mornings, a warm breakfast gets you going better than cold.

I use it every evening for supper and in the morning for breakfast. Best way to end a day with a warm mean on the hills before crawling into bag/tent. Same with mornings, a warm breakfast gets you going better than cold.

That sounds so idyllic, where have you been recently?

Looking at reviews it looks like people tend to prefer the gas stoves for ease of use.

I've got a trangia meths burner, tbh I sometimes wish I'd got a gas stove like a pocket rocket for the weight.

That said, they pack away really neatly (when you consider you get 2 pans, frying pan and sometimes a kettle as well as the burner. 500ml meths will last a week or so making ideal for proper trekking. You'd struggle to get a gas bottle in some/most places in africa, but the trangia stove will run off any liquid fuels.