View Full Version : Has anyone used BidPay?


alisha18
13-10-2005, 18:29
Can someone please tell me how reliable bidpay is on ebay. Just sold an item on ebay and the international buyer (from Nigeria) wants to pay this way, so I would appreciate any comments as to how safe this payment method is or if anyone has used it?

Thanks

fnkysknky
13-10-2005, 18:47
Sounds like a well known scam....

http://www.joewein.de/sw/fraud-western-union-bidpay-ebay.htm

cgksheff
13-10-2005, 18:49
Theoretically you should be safe as you will recieve a money order which you can cash. Only after you have cash in your hands do you ship the item(s).

However, simply by virtue of the mention of the country, Nigeria, I say "Scam Alert" and I would not touch it with a bargepole.

Customs and Postal Services in Nigeria are such that no one in their right mind would order small goods to be delivered from overseas. The most likely reason for a person in Nigeria to be bidding for a foreign item is to set up a scam.

Are they paying for it to be sent by Courier Service?

Would you bid for and pay for an item advertised as being in Nigeria?

I could only find one item on e-bay as being in Nigeria!

alisha18
13-10-2005, 19:03
I was very reluctant to go through with this sale initially as I did think it was a scam, but I will just re-advertise the product.

Thanks guys.

miniminch
13-10-2005, 19:17
I use BidPay all the time and don't have a problem with it. But my mother has advised me not to call her this or take her to the cleaners everytime she visits sheffield. Parents!:rolleyes:

tebort
21-10-2005, 07:10
DO NTO USE BIDPAY!

I get email sweekly from "Phishers".

Its a scam.

I also has an email from EBAY after another member offered to pay me thru it warning me against it.

Its a SCAM!

DO NOT USE IT!

ultracynic
21-10-2005, 08:11
if it mentions nigeria it will definitely be a scam

tebort
21-10-2005, 08:15
Thats the one i got. He wanted me to ship my phone to nigeria.... YEAH RIGHT if this witch doctor whoever he is got hold of a laptop and a wireless connection wants my fone he can darn well fly over here and get my local pick up only option!!!

dibsy
21-10-2005, 08:28
I had the same thing when I advertised a phone on ebay about a year ago, he was even offering to pay way over the odds for it.
I'd say no way:nono:

mightymouse
23-10-2005, 04:17
SCAMMERS!!!! Always check the email, it would definitely be bidpay@freeinternet.com or some crap. unless its from bidpay just contact customer support on bidpay website and ask them. nowadays them idiots even try to fake paypal check this out http://bustedupcowgirl.com/scampage.html

anyways if the deal is too good to be true then its probably not true!!

meersbrook
23-10-2005, 08:55
Yep, just to underline this point, AVOID people who bid or buy on items who are based in Nigeria.

On the face of it, such actions may seem alarmist or even prejudice - but trust me, it's the safest option.

BidPay.com should not be dragged into this though - the service IS bona fide OK (and is actually owned by Western Union)

HOWEVER, that said the scammers seem to like to use BidPay as their "weapon of choice", so it does look like there is some kind of loop hole in their system.

Hope that helps (had a friend a work who recently tried to sell a phone and had 2 buyers from Nigeria, both of which offered to pay over the odds, asked for his bank details - but both were chucked off eBay even before he had had time to reply and tell 'em where to go!!)

Good luck..