Sheffield Prison

I didn't catch the whole story but I am sure I heard a mention of a Sheffield Prision on the radio. It mentioned NCPM and midland station also...as if it was going to be somewhere around here.

Can anyone verify this? please tell me I was dreaming....

Does anyone have the full facts?

Hi,

I'm a student journalist at the university. I've been looking at the possibility of a Sheffield prison today, and so far I've found nothing which would suggest there will be one here. I've spoken to the home office, and other sources about it, and it seems that Sheffield is a possible consideration in the distant future. How much of one I am not sure yet. I would love to find out more, but I need to know which radio station you were listening to when you heard it? I will let you know if I find anything else. Amanda :)

There is one at Doncaster recently opened.

There is a remand home in Sheffield at Dore.

Maybe one of these????

Possibly an urban myth, but I heard they planned to turn Meadowhell into a jail, if the Shopping Centre didn't make any money.

Originally posted by "Amanda"

Hi,

I'm a student journalist at the university. I've been looking at the possibility of a Sheffield prison today, and so far I've found nothing which would suggest there will be one here. I've spoken to the home office, and other sources about it, and it seems that Sheffield is a possible consideration in the distant future. How much of one I am not sure yet. I would love to find out more, but I need to know which radio station you were listening to when you heard it? I will let you know if I find anything else. Amanda :)

I think it was Galaxy.

Is it possible it was an April Fools joke on the wireless?

Originally posted by "Andy"

Is it possible it was an April Fools joke on the wireless?