UnkleBob
07-09-2005, 17:09
i have recieved an email from "paypal" stating that my account wil be terminated as someone has tried to hack into my account...will terminate acct if i dont follow instructions on the link...
There are a few spelling errors but it looks genuine, however, i'm sure i've seen that paypal will never ask for passwords and the link does just that.
So i'm convinced it's a scam, but any others had a similar experience? I'm going to google it too but want to warn my fellow forummers too!
happens all the time.
i have had notification of service terminated for the last month.
ignore the link.
if u r concerned go to our paypal account, it will advise you in there of any mods required.
Don_Kiddick
08-09-2005, 09:17
Unklebob!
Don't for gawds sake reply to it or click on any links!!!
Instead forward the whole thing without altering anything to
spoof@paypal.com
and
spoof@ebay.com (if you use an ebay account with paypal).
They will be able to track via the original IPA who the spammer is & they always prosecute. :thumbsup:
I keep getting this email at one of my addresses and the fact is that I don't even have an account!
squeakyclean
08-09-2005, 09:25
I have had many of these plus some new ones telling me that Joe Bloggs blah blah blah has sent me cash! The emails are pretty convincing apart from the dead give away of clinking on a link. The other ones I have been getting claim to be from ebay congratulating me on items I have won, the 1st one I got was a little scary as it was a car at $9800, of course It was just a scam with a link for some poor souls to give away their i.d.
spyro2000
08-09-2005, 13:09
I had one of these emails and also had one from Natwest (see this thread (http://www.sheffieldforum.co.uk/showthread.php?s=&threadid=54813))
Seems to be getting quite common
If you get ANY links in emails just hover the mouse over the link and the ACTUAL address it would direct you to if you actually clicked on it will be displayed at the bottom left of your display. ie lets say the link says 'verify you account click here www.paypal-com (. replaced to dash for display purposes here) the bottom text if you do the hover over would probably say something like http://www.zinka.org/paypal/login.html which is CLEARLY not the correct paypal address which would be something like https://paypal.com/login.html THIS RULES APPLIES TO ALL LINKS FROM ALL SOURCES AND AS FAR AS IM AWARE CANNOT BE FAKED.
If this is helpfull and clear enough for everyone please leasve a comment on the thread soi know i explained it OK.
(little plug here NUCAD Property Maintenance Services for all aspects of work in around the home from gardening/clearing to fitting new kitchens,bathrooms,tiling,pointing,decorating,desi gn services,plastering, lead roof replacemant and many other types of proprty work)
spyro2000
08-09-2005, 13:29
Originally posted by NUCAD
If you get ANY links in emails just hover the mouse over the link and the ACTUAL address it would direct you to if you actually clicked on it will be displayed at the bottom left of your display. ie lets say the link says 'verify you account click here www.paypal-com (. replaced to dash for display purposes here) the bottom text if you do the hover over would probably say something like http://www.zinka.org/paypal/login.html which is CLEARLY not the correct paypal address which would be something like https://paypal.com/login.html THIS RULES APPLIES TO ALL LINKS FROM ALL SOURCES AND AS FAR AS IM AWARE CANNOT BE FAKED.
If this is helpfull and clear enough for everyone please leasve a comment on the thread soi know i explained it OK.
Nothing wrong with clicking on the links, but you should NEVER enter personal details into a website when you have gone to it via an email link anyway. ALWAYS type the url in yourself.
banesmabes
08-09-2005, 13:32
I get loads of these to one of my email addresses, again for banks I have never had any dealings with (some of them are not even UK banks!), so people are obviously just sending them to whatever emails addresses they can get hold off and hoping at least one person will have an account and will fall for the scam.
slimsid2000
08-09-2005, 13:58
There is this (http://www.brayforum.com/miscpics/church/benedict_xvi.jpg) man who is guilty of a papal scam.