biggan
16-08-2005, 22:48
Ihave heard about these sites to which if you send £20 they will either send you a latest phone, a psp or an ipod for £20?
is this true or is it a scam?
thanx.
is this true or is it a scam?
thanx.
|
View Full Version : The latest phone, a psp or an ipod for £20?? biggan 16-08-2005, 22:48 Ihave heard about these sites to which if you send £20 they will either send you a latest phone, a psp or an ipod for £20? is this true or is it a scam? thanx. spyro2000 16-08-2005, 22:51 Show us a site and well let you know. beansforyou 16-08-2005, 22:54 They are usually Pyramid or matrix schemes, where 100 peoples have to send in £20, then the first in the queue gets the item, I think they're illegal? biggan 16-08-2005, 22:56 i have seen them on ebay you have to win the auction then they tell you the site should i buy it or not? thanx. spyro2000 16-08-2005, 23:01 Nah I wouldnt bother. If anything you can just do a search on google and find the same information anyway. ANGELUS 16-08-2005, 23:03 NO NO NO! Dont do it mate.. you might get a link to a site that probably will be conveniently down when you try and visit it. Dont do it! Its a big con.. report them to eBay. Zinger549 17-08-2005, 14:40 the matrix phoes is one of those sites http://www.thematrixphones.co.uk. I don't know anybody who has use that site. but i'm shure it's a sacm spyro2000 17-08-2005, 14:45 Originally posted by Zinger549 the matrix phoes is one of those sites http://www.thematrixphones.co.uk. I don't know anybody who has use that site. but i'm shure it's a sacm Its not a scam per sa, but its not very likely you will get your goods unless you are on of the 1st people to send in the money. The way a lot of them work is like this... When you send in your 20 quid, your name gets put on a list. Everytime 5 people send in 20 quid, the next person on the list gets their item. So as you can see, the further down the list you are the less likely it is that you will get the goods. star 17-08-2005, 15:21 yeah yeah go for it mate why not? lol let me know if works! lol lol willman 17-08-2005, 15:24 complete waste of money. however if you & 30 friends send me £20 each. i will put u to the top of my list & send u a free ipod within 7 days. spyro2000 17-08-2005, 15:26 Originally posted by willman complete waste of money. however if you & 30 friends send me £20 each. i will put u to the top of my list & send u a free ipod within 7 days. lol says you with the cashbin referall link for a signature ;):rolleyes: Andy78 17-08-2005, 15:57 The fact that the system works by referrals too makes it harder to get anything too. Basically, you can jump up a place on the waiting list if loads of people name you as a reference when they sign up. What happens is people start advertising the scheme everywhere so that they can get referrals (hence the adverts on ebay). My mate signed up for one of these things over a year ago and his name has since moved further and further down the list. As spyro say's, it's very similar to a pyramid scheme. If you fancy losing £20, feel free. :) biggan 17-08-2005, 17:01 Originally posted by Andy78 If you fancy losing £20, feel free. :) i think i will give it a miss as i am very short on cash and thats why i was thinking of sending £20 off in the first place so i could get a cheap phone but after all the advice that has been given i think i will give it a miss! thanx. Hook 17-08-2005, 17:06 There's a site called freeipods.com which actually works. It's legit and above board. You sign up and join an offer with a UK company such as screenselect, where you get free dvd's for a month and then they charge you after. You can cancel your subscription before the end of the month if you want. Then you have to get 5 people to sign up and do the same thing, and once you've done that then you get a freeipod sent to you. When you sign up for an offer freeipods.com get given money by the service you sign up for, so by getting 6 offers signed up, they get more money than the iPod costs them to buy wholesale. There's a BBC News article covering it here.. http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/programmes/newsnight/3683524.stm If you're interesting in having a go, please PM before you sign up, because I need two more people to complete my offer! :) spyro2000 17-08-2005, 19:18 Yeah that site you are on about Hook is definitely legit. I signed up a while ago. I didnt have to cancel my DVD subscription as I gave them slightly wrong card details and subscribed. After the IPOD people had approved my subscription I then got an Email from screen select saying that there has been a problem with a credit card details but it had still classed me as finishing an offer. :clap: Zinger549 17-08-2005, 20:56 I been on that site before but wasn't shure about it i might give it a try now |