loopylass
24-11-2009, 14:45
http://sheffield.gumtree.com/sheffield/15/49698215.html :suspect:
|
View Full Version : Is this a scam? loopylass 24-11-2009, 14:45 http://sheffield.gumtree.com/sheffield/15/49698215.html :suspect: seadog 24-11-2009, 15:15 Which advert were you looking at the one that wants any unwanted animals looks a bit odd loopylass 24-11-2009, 15:20 sorry the link was to this site http://www.animalsrescue.net/ i think they may have pulled it as i reported it Dozy 24-11-2009, 15:50 Definitely fishy! If you click on any of the links, eg: education, it just takes you direct to the donations page. The Charities Commission doesn't have an Animals Rescue listed, and a search on the charity number they list comes up with this! (http://www.charity-commission.gov.uk/ShowCharity/RegisterOfCharities/RemovedCharityMain.aspx?RegisteredCharityNumber=22 7525&SubsidiaryNumber=0) Dozy 24-11-2009, 17:50 Thanks to some help from the Techie section, I've been able to e-mail the company who owns the domain and request that they remove this website. steev 24-11-2009, 19:29 Couldn't tell from the thread on the techie section who you were going to contact, but if you email who controls the domain (Network Solutions) you're unlikely to get anywhere, they *just* control the domain name, & Network Solutions are frankly a bit crap in my experience. You'll probably get further by contacting the hosting company, Inet Services. It's just on what looks like one of their shared servers. Email them (support@inetservices.com) or use their contact form (http://www.inetservices.com/corporate-overview/contact-us/), put in as much information as you can, if you let the hosts know that their customer is pretending to be a charity & their alleged registered charity number is fake they may even just take it down straight away, but the more information you give them the quicker they can look into it & do something about it. If you just email them without any evidence you're unlikely to get anywhere. Dozy 24-11-2009, 19:53 Couldn't tell from the thread on the techie section who you were going to contact, but if you email who controls the domain (Network Solutions) you're unlikely to get anywhere, they *just* control the domain name, & Network Solutions are frankly a bit crap in my experience. You'll probably get further by contacting the hosting company, Inet Services. It's just on what looks like one of their shared servers. Email them (support@inetservices.com) or use their contact form (http://www.inetservices.com/corporate-overview/contact-us/), put in as much information as you can, if you let the hosts know that their customer is pretending to be a charity & their alleged registered charity number is fake they may even just take it down straight away, but the more information you give them the quicker they can look into it & do something about it. If you just email them without any evidence you're unlikely to get anywhere. Drat this technology, I never get the terminology right!!! It is Inet Services who I contacted. I sent them the link to the Charity Commission's website, which shows the registered number Animals Rescue is claiming to be theirs actually belongs to an old branch of the British Legion. I've received an automatic reply, so I know they've got my message, I just hope they do something. loopylass 25-11-2009, 11:37 Thank you Dozy for trying to sort this out as i wouldnt have a clue. it makes me so angry that people can do this taking money from real charities in need. sarebear1982 25-11-2009, 12:31 Definitely fishy! If you click on any of the links, eg: education, it just takes you direct to the donations page. The Charities Commission doesn't have an Animals Rescue listed, and a search on the charity number they list comes up with this! (http://www.charity-commission.gov.uk/ShowCharity/RegisterOfCharities/RemovedCharityMain.aspx?RegisteredCharityNumber=22 7525&SubsidiaryNumber=0) Not sure whats happened but the charity number shown on the web is coming up as Dogs Trust???? http://www.charity-commission.gov.uk/ShowCharity/RegisterOfCharities/CharityWithPartB.aspx?RegisteredCharityNumber=2275 23&SubsidiaryNumber=0 sarebear1982 25-11-2009, 12:46 I've emailed customer services at Dogs Trust. Lets see what they have to say about it? GrinderBloke 25-11-2009, 13:07 Just spoke to The Dogs Trust to make them aware someone is using their charity number. Looks like this website is being widely promoted via free add sites such as Gumtree. sarebear1982 25-11-2009, 13:17 Just spoke to The Dogs Trust to make them aware someone is using their charity number. Looks like this website is being widely promoted via free add sites such as Gumtree. What did they say GrinderBloke? sarebear1982 25-11-2009, 13:44 Just had this reply from Dogs Trust. Dear Sarah, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. This Charity is not linked to ourselves, it appears they have copied and edited somewhat large chunks of our site www.dogstrust.org.uk (including charity numbers) and have passed it off as their own. I have passed your email to our legal department to investigate. Thank you once again for contacting us Jacqui GrinderBloke 25-11-2009, 14:48 What did they say GrinderBloke? Pretty much what they said in the email to you. They would be referring the matter to legal people. I was going to go via The Charities Commission, but I though The Dogs Trust would take the matter more seriously. Lets hope this get stopped before any money is transfer via PP. G Dozy 25-11-2009, 15:01 Not sure whats happened but the charity number shown on the web is coming up as Dogs Trust???? http://www.charity-commission.gov.uk/ShowCharity/RegisterOfCharities/CharityWithPartB.aspx?RegisteredCharityNumber=2275 23&SubsidiaryNumber=0 How weird!! When I put the number in, I got a branch of the British Legion - and I couldn't have mis-typed it, I did a copy and paste!!! :huh: Anyway, glad the Dogs Trust are onto this, hope they get the damn site closed down quick. Plain Talker 25-11-2009, 15:24 Funnily enough, I had my suspicions about their "Bona Fides", so I had the idea of checking the charity number, too, and got the same, "British Legion" details, so I also wrote to the Charities Comission. I asked how they could be using the number of a defunct charity, and asked that they looked into possible fraud. The charity posted a thread earlier today, with a link, to a very poor quality, amateurish site, with no contact details except an email address, no postal contact, phone number, or anything. MOST suspect! :suspect: medusa 25-11-2009, 16:47 The information in the link also includes a Scottish registered charity number, which relates to a charity called 'Duntocher Out of School Care' which provides out of school activities for children in Greenock in Scotland, so I think it's fairly sage that this one is bogus too. According to the information that I can find, there is no such thing as a charity number for Ireland as there is no official register of charities in either Northern Ireland or Eire. Dozy 25-11-2009, 17:34 Just reported the site to Paypal, because that's what's being used for people to donate. sarebear1982 01-12-2009, 20:12 Had a reply from dogs trust yesterday (sorry its on my work email so can't copy) but the gist was they have contacted the site and they have removed charity numbers and the donate button. Just checked and that seems to be the case. WELL DONE SF!!! :thumbsup: Moonbird 01-12-2009, 20:34 I decided to email this "charity" for advice as the website offers that service just to see what would happen and guess what...a week later no reply. Well done Loopylass for bringing this up and a big well done to everyone who have worked to see that this "charity" cannot rip people off any further :thumbsup: loopylass 01-12-2009, 21:12 I decided to email this "charity" for advice as the website offers that service just to see what would happen and guess what...a week later no reply. Well done Loopylass for bringing this up and a big well done to everyone who have worked to see that this "charity" cannot rip people off any further :thumbsup: Thanks Moonbird and everyone else. Just shows that this Forum does some worthwhile things:) |