View Full Version : Do you think this is genuine?


Rich
08-07-2005, 09:37
Hi.

I got this (http://email02.wanadoo.co.uk/webmail/inbox_read.html?IDMSG=500) in my email yesterday supposedly from Paypal...

There's a link in the email to reactivate my account, but the link doesn't work, which leads me to conclude that the email is possibly dodgy.

The content of the email, in case the link doesn't work, is as follows:

Dear PayPal member :


We regret to inform you that your PayPal account, has been temporarily blocked due to various login attempts from different global locations.


As Romania is one of the highest rated fraudulent countries, we temporarily blocked your account to avoid future problems or misusage of your PayPal account.


Here are the last 3 login attempts :

1. IP address : 193.105.3.173
ISP host : st13.i-cafe.orizont.net
Location : Romania

2. IP address : 80.97.171.22
ISP host : rds-net.bistrita.net
Location : Romania

3. IP address : 62.177.188.59
ISP host : adsl.bbeyond.ro
Location : Romania



If you are traveling and made these login attempts yourself or borrowed your PayPal account to someone else , please log in below.

Travelling confirmation Here





If you want to re-activate your PayPal account , please follow our instructions.

Re-activate your account Here






If this situation is not solved in the next 24 hours your account will be permanently suspended.


Please follow all the steps in order for us to confirm your identity and there is no doubt of identity theft.


Sincerely, PayPalŪ Account Security Center

Tracie
08-07-2005, 09:38
I had a similar email purporting to be from my broadband provider. I rang them and it was a hoax... I'd treat this with caution too.

rich951
08-07-2005, 09:46
As a general rule, you should *never* log in to a site you were taken to by clicking on a link in an email. If it's genuine you would be able to just type the name of the site into your browser. Most of the time if you look at the link without visiting it, you can see that it is nothing like the genuine URL, but remember that in the past there have been a number of ways to trick browsers into showing a different address from the one you are at. So clicking on it and then looking where it goes to isn't guaranteed to be safe...

My guess is that this is intended to catch out people who think "yeah, I heard about that email phishing thing so it must be genuine".

JonJParr
08-07-2005, 09:47
This is most likely a hoax designed to defraud you Rich. In nearly all cases, the hoax emails make the threat of "suspending your account permanently" unless you respond within 24 hours; it would seem fraudsters are impatient! You only have to sit and think about it logically- Paypal are a business who want to make money. Why would they suspend your account permanently? They would effectively be pushing customers away. As such, there's no way it could be genuine. Delete it and report it.

candystick
08-07-2005, 09:48
By the looks of it it's a spoof just forward it to spoof@paypal.com then they will email you and let you know if it is genuine or not.


I keep getting spoof from emails claiming to be paypal and also from ebay. I just send them all to paypal or ebay to get them verified.

It's so annoying

JoeP
08-07-2005, 09:49
NOOOOOO!!!!!!

Never, ever follow a link like this!

Shame on you! ;)

Seriously, if you're concerned go to Paypal's site DIRECTLY, not by following ANY link.

I've had a few of these mailings and none are real.

Joe

Rich
08-07-2005, 09:59
Just had a reply from Paypal regarding the mail I just sent to spoof@paypal.com, and they said the email I forwarded definitely WASN'T genuine.

Matter resolved, you can close the thread now if you want Joe ;)

JoeP
08-07-2005, 10:06
Your wish is my command, Oh Rich.

Joe

Cyclone
08-07-2005, 10:06
didn't the bad grammar tip you off?

If you have borrowed your account to anyone else...

If you're going to send a phishing email, at least word it correctly, stupid phishers.