View Full Version : Claranet and clara.net - are they two different companies


Rubysoho
05-06-2005, 09:07
My main e-mail address is getting something like 60+ malicious (contains viruses) spam e-mails a day. I have found the ISP address and they are all coming from future 116 claranet.co.uk.
Now, when I try to contact claranet.co.uk the internet connection keeps being refused BUT I have also found an ISP provider clara.net who have offices in the UK - will these be the same company???

Also, if you do future116.claranet.co.uk as a web address it fetches up a login page to get to the 'Router Web Configurator' at future116 etc - what exactly is this??

Any advice as to what I can do would be much appreciated as to say I am getting highly naffed off with all these blooming e-mails is an understatement:mad:

Ta:thumbsup: :help:

Vini
05-06-2005, 10:19
claranet.co.uk and clara.net are the same, just 2 different domains.

futurelink116.claranet.co.uk might be one of their customers websites if they give webspace out, or it might be a link to a claranet router as suggested.

either way if you visit claranet.co.uk or clara.net and report problems, as theyre the same, they will help.

Rubysoho
05-06-2005, 11:29
Thank you, will do just that:)

JoeP
05-06-2005, 12:50
Here we go :

Registrant: Make this info private
ClaraNET Ltd.
Vinery Court, 50 Banner Street
London, EC1Y 8TX
GB
Phone: 999 999 9999
Fax: 999 999 9999

Domain Name: CLARA.NET

Administrative Contact , Technical Contact :
Claranet Ltd
hostmaster@clara.net
21 Southampton Row
Holborn, London WC1B 5HA
UK
Phone: 44(0)8453552020
Fax: 44(0)8708878858

Record expires on 13-Mar-2014
Record created on 12-Mar-1996
Database last updated on 19-Jan-2005

Domain servers in listed order: Manage DNS

NS0.CLARA.NET 217.158.169.7
NS1.CLARA.NET 195.8.69.36
NS2.CLARA.NET 212.43.194.28


Current Registrar: NETWORK SOLUTIONS, LLC.
IP Address: 80.168.70.180 (ARIN & RIPE IP search)
IP Location: UK(UNITED KINGDOM)
Record Type: Domain Name
Server Type: Apache 1
Lock Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
Web Site Status: Active
DMOZ 2 listings
Y! Directory: see listings
Secure: No
E-commerce: Yes
Traffic Ranking: 1
Data as of: 21-Jun-2004


Looks like that's an internal router for the ISP - wouldn't go prodding too much there as you will probably trigger a few bells.

If you do a tracert to it it goes in to thir IP address space.

I would assume that someone's using that machine as a spam relay - try e-mailing a spam report to postmaster@clara.net

Joe

Rubysoho
05-06-2005, 13:08
Wow, that's a lot of info - thanks for all that Joe:)

Rich
05-06-2005, 13:21
ClaraNET werer my first ever ISP back when I got the Internet for Christmas in 1997..

Their dial up service was tops.. Never once had to ring the techies up..

Unlike future ISPs such as AOhell, BT or Freeserve :rant:

Eleri
07-06-2005, 06:40
Don't know how successful you'll be with their abuse team though.

We've been getting emails containing the I-Worm/Mytob.CU. virus from a single claranet user since 25th May, and have contacted them twice about it. The virus is spoofing our business email addy as well, and they've done nothing to shut the user down as yet. :(