View Full Version : Have my credit card details been stolen?


dwhl
30-05-2005, 11:21
Hi,

Just received an email today:

Dear customer,

Unfortunately your transaction has not been authorized.
Please, specify your transaction
number ******* dating 22 May 2005 with total amount of 274.00 pounds.
You've specified the following email as reachable.
Please call us at +44-01217111915 for additional information.
You can find the order details at www.amotrading.org

Reggards.
AMO SoftShop Team.

Where has this come from? Am afraid that someone has taken my credit card details.....have tried calling the number but it goes to a mail box which declares itself as full. The website does not work and no real joy when googling the company.

Please help.

Is this a hoax or something more sinister

miniminch
30-05-2005, 11:27
Originally posted by dwhl
Hi,

Just received an email today:

Dear customer,

Unfortunately your transaction has not been authorized.
Please, specify your transaction
number ******* dating 22 May 2005 with total amount of 274.00 pounds.
You've specified the following email as reachable.
Please call us at +44-01217111915 for additional information.
You can find the order details at www.amotrading.org

Reggards.
AMO SoftShop Team.



Where has this come from? Am afraid that someone has taken my credit card details.....have tried calling the number but it goes to a mail box which declares itself as full. The website does not work and no real joy when googling the company.

Please help.

Is this a hoax or something more sinister :) its probably a hoax to get you to ring that number which is most likely premium rate. contact your bank if you are still worried tho

Strix
30-05-2005, 11:31
Contact your card company immediately. You are only protected from any further abuse of your card if you report it now. If it's nothing to worry about - they'll tell you ;)

Eleri
30-05-2005, 11:38
It's spam. Got the same one sent to one of our site accounts on the 28th.

Lotti
30-05-2005, 11:39
Hi,

I did a google search for you and it appears to be something to do with sex.

amo SoftShop findings (http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&q=Amo+Trading+SoftShop&meta=)

This is what I found, two results from it and they both say in the short description about Amo and SoftShop.

hope this helps. There are some contact details on it, but the site with most info is in German unfortunately :rolleyes:

Good luck, make sure you contact credit card company and bank.

Lottie

dwhl
30-05-2005, 11:53
thanks for the speedy replies everyone.....I think that I will contact the bank and credit card companies then.

It does seem strange that if someone was trying to buy something from my credit card that they would use my personal email rather than their own email account (or just set up a bogus one themselves)

Is the telephone number that they give to call: +44-01217111915 likely to be a premium rate number. Looks a bit like a B'ham number to me??

sccsux
30-05-2005, 13:05
Originally posted by dwhl
.....
You've specified the following email as reachable.
Please call us at +44-01217111915 for additional information.
You can find the order details at www.amotrading.org



The domain has been killed for violation of the hosts T&Cs;).

Makes me think it was a scam, though if you are in any doubts you should contact your card issuer immediately.

cgksheff
30-05-2005, 14:38
Unless the "transaction number" contains your card number, I see nothing here to suggest anything to worry about.

Most likely spam to encourage visits to their website.

spyro2000
30-05-2005, 15:15
Originally posted by dwhl

Is the telephone number that they give to call: +44-01217111915 likely to be a premium rate number. Looks a bit like a B'ham number to me??

Well its kind of a Birmingham number, its a number in Solihull, on the outskirts of Brum

Cyclone
30-05-2005, 15:36
probably a scam to get you to confirm your card details when you phoned, but it sounds like it's already been closed down.
Report it just to be on the safe side.

Robbie Loving
30-05-2005, 15:55
Originally posted by miniminch
:) its probably a hoax to get you to ring that number which is most likely premium rate. contact your bank if you are still worried tho

0121 area is for birmingham area

spyro2000
30-05-2005, 16:06
Originally posted by Robbie_Lovin
0121 area is for birmingham area

Yeah but the number in particular is not Birmingham, its a solihull code. Even West Brom has a 0121 code

Andy
30-05-2005, 19:49
This type of scam has been going for a while...what will happen is, when you call, they will trick you into giving them your card number, expirary date etc, and then use your card for bad things.