Not sure if this has been covered in here before, but I just got an email claiming to be form support@ebay saying someone's making fake bids using my account.
The mime info say's it's sent from webspacing.cl and it asks me to log into my account via a link to framalk.be.
Strangely the framalk address appears in the address bar, but the ebay login address also appears but is sort of floating over on eof IE's toolbars.
Obviously a scam of some sorts I reckon..... So beware...
I suggest you report it directly to ebay.
Martin_s
18-05-2005, 10:03
Ebay has a whole community area and even a button on the site linking to spoof, scam and other "phishing" attempts that are pretty much a part of life now on the net..
If you run outlook or outlook express as your email client then I'd strongly recommend you turn on the "convert to plain text" option for all received emails as this immediately shows the true url (web address) that the supposed genuine link is being redirected to...
As with all of these phishing scams it's best to open a browser window independently and then type in your services web address manually (ie: not click and go) so you can check of the supposed "account termination", etc... is genuine or not...
In 99.999999% of case it's not...
Found it in my hotmail junk box, thought it was odd though as I'd just spent about 400 quid on ebay this morning.
Ebay scammer got scamed (http://www.i-am-bored.com/bored_link.cfm?link_id=10199)
hehe this made me smile
alchresearch
20-05-2005, 19:56
Just forward all emails you get to spoof@ebay.com and they'll confirm if it is genuine or not.
Ebay not have a messaging service up and running, so if they need to contact you, they'll do that. You log into "My Ebay" as normal and will get a prompt.