View Full Version : E - bay for sale advice please


fridgeman
10-03-2005, 11:56
recently advertised some goods for sale on the e-bay whatsit , the advert clearly stated items for sale in the uk only , yes you've guessed it i received loads from uganda , zimbabwe,nambia and botswana , to which i ignored .last week i received an offer for my goods to which i accepted, the offer was for £750 ,this guy e-mailed me asking for name , address the usual details to which i sent a po box number and told him to send the payment there , his response was that he would be sending a payment of £6000 to which i should take my payment out and another £550 for my trouble arrange for goods to be delivered and wire him his change, by the way he live in holland , recieved payment of £6000 today wtf is that all about , is it some sort of scam to rob me of my goods?? :confused:

Scutts
10-03-2005, 11:57
Yes, it's a scam - keep well clear :rant:

Sam

mikey
10-03-2005, 11:59
On the face of it it looks like a scam, just dont do anything.

How do you know you have got money? is it real cash you can get your hands on? or Paypal type payment.

What were the goods?

Can you expose the user?

Take it up with ebay

neeeeeeeeeek
10-03-2005, 12:00
It's a scam. Report it to Ebay and ignore them.
Also watch out for the buying with Western Money transfer thinggy and posting to unusual places.. All Scams. If someone has paid you over the odds then it will most likely be with stolen details so I would advise you not to cash the cheque.
I could be wrong but I would be very cautious.

JoeP
10-03-2005, 12:04
Hiya,

This is a common fraud - it relies on you banking the cheque and it taking a while before it properly clears.

Your bank may say 'the funds have cleared' BUT it is possible for them to say this and there still be a window for the payment to bounce.

So you think you have 6000, you draw a Bankers Draft or cash for the 'change' and send the goods, then their payment to you is stopped or bounces.

You then owe your bank 6000.

Also, it's an excellent way to launder money - even if you got the money and it didn't bounce t's such a dodgy business that the police would immediately start looking at you for money laundering - it's not normal business practise and you could be said to have not paid due dilligence.

Just walk away.

Joe

fridgeman
10-03-2005, 13:20
Originally posted by mikey
On the face of it it looks like a scam, just dont do anything.

How do you know you have got money? is it real cash you can get your hands on? or Paypal type payment.

What were the goods?

Can you expose the user?

Take it up with ebay



cheque came through the post this am , cheque is from his/her friend ,cheques states that its from a company called"forever living products" based in warwick,
its an HSBC cheque , birmingham branch
the end user will be "YHARE LKOWSE (meetluvly@yahoo.com)
the goods are 5 ventilators for sale(very much like air conditioning units)

Skatiechik
10-03-2005, 13:32
Its a well known scam

wendy
10-03-2005, 13:36
Fridgeman what Joe says is correct this is money laundering and is against the Prevention of Terrorism Act (1990 - I think). I would be inclined to report it to the police personally.

At the very least I would say return the cheque. and don't have anything to do with it - it's not worth it!

fridgeman
10-03-2005, 14:27
:clap: thanks gang
just contacted a nice lady at forever living products who informed me that the cheque is from a scam group,apparently they intercepted a valid cheque of theirs to a company in holland,photocopied it played around a bit with the wording and are now using it to scam people.
once again thanks for your help.
i've still got the bloody items for sale though any ideas as i'm steering well clear of that e-bay thing seems to be rife with scammers, you can't trust no one these days.:rant:

wendy
10-03-2005, 14:33
Glad to be of assistance:D

Draggletail
10-03-2005, 15:19
Glad you didn't fall for it.
In defence of ebay, I have been buying and selling there for three or four years and never had any trouble :)
(that is apart from a £3 phone charger never arriving)........

Scutts
10-03-2005, 20:14
You live and learn :thumbsup:

Sam

Scutts
10-03-2005, 20:18
wow - just noticed that there were 4 replies to the original question, warning you, within 8 minutes :nod:

Seems like the first place to come is SheffieldForum :clap:

Sam