View Full Version : I don't trust him, what do you think.
PaulTansley 22-02-2005, 20:49 Ok heres the deal.
I have advertised a macaw on a web site and I have had an email saying this guy wants it and will send me the money through a bankers draft and arrange pick up.
His email which I recieved yesterday says he will organise shipment of the Macaw and asked for my details, though not my bank details.
This guy put me on his yahoo messenger and I liased with him on that.
I got suspicious because he said he was in Scotland and I asked to phone him and he made excuses that his phone was not working, although he was on the net,also his English was not perfect making me think he was abroad.
To cut a long story short, he made me suspicious and I put him on ignore and deleted his email.
Now tonight I get another email of the same quality, although a different email address.
I wnt to know your feelings on this and I would email anyone who is interested to analyse it and give me your view.
Though this guy has not asked for my bank details I fear he may use my identity for fraud.
Am I being parranoid or is this guy genuine, also my phone number is with the advert so if he was in Scotland he could ring me.
matsalleh 22-02-2005, 20:54 what's all this about then ?
http://www.sheffieldforum.co.uk/showthread.php?s=&threadid=30129
Looks like good advice there, or do you want someone to tell you he is genuine and trustworthy? OK go for it he is 101% kosher.
I would say if you are suspicious enough to ask for advice then its a deffinate no no
Hope this helps???
A =)
PaulTansley 22-02-2005, 21:01 Originally posted by matsalleh
what's all this about then ?
http://www.sheffieldforum.co.uk/showthread.php?s=&threadid=30129
Looks like good advice there, or do you want someone to tell you he is genuine and trustworthy? OK go for it he is 101% kosher. Oh yeah, so how do you know that then.
Until you read the email you will not know.
I am hoping there is someone on here who could trace the emails country of origin or perhaps be much wiser than i am and know this is a fraud attempt.
Theres a lot of clever people on here and I want there opinions.
Also the above thread link is about the bankers draft, not the email.
PaulTansley 22-02-2005, 21:05 Originally posted by Avalon
I would say if you are suspicious enough to ask for advice then its a deffinate no no
Hope this helps???
A =) Of course I will not do that but my intention is to try and find out what this guy is up to so it will help in the future to be even more cautious.
Kristian 22-02-2005, 21:08 Cycleracer,
If you were happy with this, you wouldn't be asking for our opinions! Go with your gut, and wait for another buyer! :thumbsup:
K x
If you can find out his ISP then maybee they can trace him? Whats the last part of his email address after the @ symbol?
PaulTansley 22-02-2005, 21:15 Originally posted by Avalon
If you can find out his ISP then maybee they can trace him? Whats the last part of his email address after the @ symbol? It is @india.com but the address yesterday was yahoo, and i am certain it was from the same person.
Also I have had another one from a guy at [Third party details removed] who sounds to me to be from the same person to.
MOD: Please don't post third party details without their consent
you can fake how your email address is shown, you can fake most of the email headers, you can send it via a different SMTP server... it takes a fair bit to do a proper trace on an email... nothing I could talk you through...
just take the bankers draft from him and cash it, if you get the money in your account then send him the item, if you dont then tell him to screw! simple as that!
he might live in scotland and be orignally from bangladesh... and there are plenty of people who's spelling is horrible, like most of the people under 18 who are obsessed with text typing :P
Ok, we can find out if they are from the same person. If you right click the email, and choose "properties", then "details" (In outlook express) you should see a load of crap similar to:
Return-Path: <apache@new.xlbox.com>
X-Original-To: webmaster@monkeymen.net
Delivered-To: webmaster@monkeymen.net
Received: from mxes17.enta.net (unknown [62.249.192.200])
by pop.freeola.net (Postfix) with ESMTP id D2DC7295D9F
for <webmaster@monkeymen.net>; Tue, 22 Feb 2005 22:18:40 +0000 (GMT)
Received: from localhost (localhost.enta.net [127.0.0.1])
by mxes17.enta.net (Postfix) with ESMTP id 0D4A3855AD4
for <webmaster@monkeymen.net>; Tue, 22 Feb 2005 22:16:04 +0000 (GMT)
Received: from mxes17.enta.net ([127.0.0.1])
by localhost (mxes17.enta.net [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024)
with ESMTP id 63171-05 for <webmaster@monkeymen.net>;
Tue, 22 Feb 2005 22:15:59 +0000 (GMT)
Received: from new.xlbox.com (new.xlbox.com [69.20.11.80])
by mxes17.enta.net (Postfix) with ESMTP id 7D6BB855ACA
for <webmaster@monkeymen.net>; Tue, 22 Feb 2005 22:15:59 +0000 (GMT)
Received: by new.xlbox.com (Postfix, from userid 48 )
id B438774C065; Tue, 22 Feb 2005 17:15:20 -0500 (EST)
To: webmaster@monkeymen.net
If you can post this for each email we should be able to work out if they are comming from the same person/address....
PaulTansley 22-02-2005, 21:21 Originally posted by xafier
you can fake how your email address is shown, you can fake most of the email headers, you can send it via a different SMTP server... it takes a fair bit to do a proper trace on an email... nothing I could talk you through...
just take the bankers draft from him and cash it, if you get the money in your account then send him the item, if you dont then tell him to screw! simple as that!
he might live in scotland and be orignally from bangladesh... and there are plenty of people who's spelling is horrible, like most of the people under 18 who are obsessed with text typing :P I were thinking about doing that but I am reluctant to give out my name and address which is what this thread is all about.
Do you think he would use my identity for fraud.
The money of course is an issue but its how he gets it to me.
get him to send it to you at work :) then its not your address, and a name is a name
PaulTansley 22-02-2005, 21:27 So if I send him a false name, would I be able to put the draft into my account, and also would he be able to trace my account details from putting this in.
Originally posted by Cycleracer
So if I send him a false name, would I be able to put the draft into my account, and also would he be able to trace my account details from putting this in.
give him your real name, but your works address... and no, he wont be able to trace your address or account details if it cashes :)
rubydazzler 22-02-2005, 21:33 You could always just have it sent to your bank couldn't you - have you asked them about it?
i'm thinking about the fate of the macaw ... i mean even if you get your money - would you want to send a living creature to someone you feel so uneasy about anyway .... could be anything - a vivisectionist or an animal abuser ... I too think you should hang on a while, you may get a really genuine buyer soon that would give the bird a good genuine home.
A.B.Yaffle 22-02-2005, 21:37 I wouldn't sell a parrot to someone who I didn't trust, not so much because of the money, but more because of what might happen to the bird.
PaulTansley 22-02-2005, 21:38 Originally posted by rubydazzler
You could always just have it sent to your bank couldn't you - have you asked them about it?
i'm thinking about the fate of the macaw ... i mean even if you get your money - would you want to send a living creature to someone you feel so uneasy about anyway .... could be anything - a vivisectionist or an animal abuser ... I too think you should hang on a while, you may get a really genuine buyer soon that would give the bird a good genuine home. Yeah thats a good point and I had considered this.
I have gave him a false name with my mobile number so if he is genuine then he will ring it and i will only deal if he leaves his details and phone number.
Thanks for the replies guys, I will call this a matter closed.
I recieved a bankers draft cashed it was unaware it was fraud bank closed my account got a email from guy who send it thretening me with aka mafia. he has my adress. also got a phone call from a guy who sounded from abroad.
|
|