Ok, received an email from Sheffield Forum telling me that my account was locked out for 15 minutes. In this email it tells you the IP address of who has attempted to crack the password.
So I thought id trace this IP using a website that displays the location of that IP, found out this information:
OrgName: Beyond The Network America, Inc.
Address: 450 Springpark PL
Address: Suite 100
City: Herdon
StateProv: VA
PostalCode: 20170
Country: US
What, the hell? :suspect:
LitleMermaid
29-01-2008, 11:48
:wave: :D
Erm, you know I don't understand anything like that^^^so I'm no flipping use, what does it mean??:suspect:
It'd those bloody Yanks up to no good again :suspect: trying to get their neb in :D
You can go a bit further using WHOIS databases.
This search :
http://ws.arin.net/whois/?queryinput=!%20BNA-42
Lists a couple of contact email addresses. They may be able to help you. Looking at their website - http://www.pccwglobal.com/ - they're an ISP so it could be anyone using their facilities.
Please PM me the IP. In the meantime change your password and ensure that your PC's firewalls areup to date and secure.
shoeshine
29-01-2008, 12:30
It's when SF locks you in you need to worry about Unknown!
ps.... posted by an SF "addict" :hihi:
LitleMermaid
29-01-2008, 12:41
It's when SF locks you in you need to worry about Unknown!
ps.... posted by an SF "addict" :hihi:
:hihi::hihi::hihi:
How many of us are trapped here?:suspect:
Litlemermaid, it means some yank is trying to take my password, but failing.
JoeP I noticed after that it was the ISP that I was tracking. Ive PMed you the IP Tony too. Changed password also.
But whod want my account in america? Straaaaange...
OK, I've had a little look and it's possible that an automated spam bot is randomly selecting usernames by trawling the internet. These Spam bots then log on and fill the forums with junk. You might have noticed other forums having this problem.
Now as you've probably gathered our security is very tight and they haven't been successful but these automated attempts might continue for a little while longer and there is little that we can do about it immediately because it's not SF that they are attacking, it's the usernames / log on.
I have an idea, but it might take a few hours to implement.
In the meantime if you have a problem please contact us with the helpdesk and include the IP address given. We can override any lock outs.
Also, if you have been targeted it would be wise to change your password to something secure, that includes a mixture of upper and lower case letters, and numbers. Don't use anything that is easily guessed or remotely resembles your username or email address.
LitleMermaid
31-01-2008, 14:49
Litlemermaid, it means some yank is trying to take my password, but failing.
JoeP I noticed after that it was the ISP that I was tracking. Ive PMed you the IP Tony too. Changed password also.
But whod want my account in america? Straaaaange...
I'd love to post a few things in your name Unknown, I'd have right fun doing that:hihi:
Hope you get it sorted soon, sounds like Tony's on the case:thumbsup:
In this specific instance we have taken steps which should prevent the problem from happening again.
Please, if you have an issue with your forum account then contact the help desk - each issue is unique and public forum isn't the ideal place to post details of your account or other people's IP addresses.
Closing this thread, if the problem does persist then contact help desk, thanks.