View Full Version : How long does it take to get a council house on priority?

SRi-Jonny
27-01-2008, 12:18
I'm just about to put a homeless application in as i'm living with my parents above their pub. I have two young children & me & my mother aren't getting on too well due to the stress that she has a business to run & it's not exactly suitable for us to be there. I'm on some depression tablets as i'm struggling to cope with the situation (arguing all the time, noisy at night & disturbing the children, lack of sleep). My mum is sending me to the council with a letter explaining this & not that she wants to, but she asking me to move out in x amount of weeks.

I'm new to all this so just wondered if anyone could share their experiences with me. :confused::confused: :)

SRi-Jonny
27-01-2008, 12:20
I'm just about to put a homeless application in as i'm living with my parents above their pub. I have two young children & me & my mother aren't getting on too well due to the stress that she has a business to run & it's not exactly suitable for us to be there. I'm on some depression tablets as i'm struggling to cope with the situation (arguing all the time, noisy at night & disturbing the children, lack of sleep). My mum is sending me to the council with a letter explaining this & not that she wants to, but she asking me to move out in x amount of weeks.

I'm new to all this so just wondered if anyone could share their experiences with me. :confused::confused: :)

sorry i am female too just using my brothers log in not that it makes much difference

Plain Talker
27-01-2008, 12:33
Have you had a look in the housing section of the forum? There's a thread about getting social housing, when you are in need, there's a list of housing associations you can apply to, as well as properties offered, privately, that might be of use to you either short- or long-term.

good luck.

pinklady
27-01-2008, 13:13