View Full Version : Anti Hacker, traffic thing...


Clare85
24-09-2007, 20:18
Don't know anything about computers/internet etc but when I spot something like this it freaks me out!

On my internet security package thing, on the anti hacker tab there is another tab under open ports called traffic with loads of Ip addresses listed. Argggh what is all this! Am I being watched!?

Mod_Man
24-09-2007, 20:21
It is likely to be the IP addresses of the sites you have recently visited. Put an IP up and let us see what it is.

richard
24-09-2007, 20:21
It will probably be a log of all the activity its blocked. If it were empty then I would worry. I get a few people trying to log in to my home machine every day and some of the servers I have must take about 1000 attempts to break in each day.

richard
24-09-2007, 20:22
Or what mod-man said

Mod_Man
24-09-2007, 20:23
What Richard said sounds more plausible.

Clare85
24-09-2007, 20:24
65.59.234.166

X Box.com?!!

What I haven't been on this! Ever!

richard
24-09-2007, 20:29
The xbox.com domain does resolve to the given address, so it is a valid domain. So the computer has accessed that site. However it doesn't mean that you have done this directly. It could appear simply because you have been to a site which has an advert for an xbox which is being served from the xbox.com domain.

That is to say, you could have been looking at a page, like this one, and on that page is an advert for an xbox and the picture or flash animation came from that domain.

xbox.com is fine as a domain. Microsoft own it and it is highly unlikely to contain any malicious stuff at all.

Clare85
24-09-2007, 20:31
The xbox.com domain does resolve to the given address, so it is a valid domain. So the computer has accessed that site. However it doesn't mean that you have done this directly. It could appear simply because you have been to a site which has an advert for an xbox which is being served from the xbox.com domain.

That is to say, you could have been looking at a page, like this one, and on that page is an advert for an xbox and the picture or flash animation came from that domain.

xbox.com is fine as a domain. Microsoft own it and it is highly unlikely to contain any malicious stuff at all.

I kind of understand now, I typed in other one which was called 'my offers' which could have been advertised on another site.

Mod_Man
24-09-2007, 20:32
Does any other person use your machine? Do you own an X-Box? The site seems safe at my end. Again, Richard seems to have this one.

richard
24-09-2007, 20:32
Its stuff like www.halifax.someotherdomain.ch which would raise alarm bells, i.e. sites that are poorly trying to pretend they are halifax.

Clare85
24-09-2007, 20:35
Does any other person use your machine? Do you own an X-Box? The site seems safe at my end. Again, Richard seems to have this one.

There are quite a few on there, just checked another one out and it bounced me back here so I suppose thats ok. Just me, its a lap top on a wireless connection.

richard
24-09-2007, 20:48
Again, Richard seems to have this one.

I'm supposed to be working as well.

Greybeard
24-09-2007, 21:12
Microsoft own it and it is highly unlikely to contain any malicious stuff at all.

That made me smile ;)

melthebell
24-09-2007, 22:30
traffic normally just means...traffic.
the internet is full of traffic, some of it youll catch when you surf, the firewall will block most of it, you need to watch for the high risk ones

sugarcube
28-09-2007, 18:13
hmm, i just got an email from "halifax"
http://www.sheffieldforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=259645&highlight=halifax+email+scam

Psyber
29-09-2007, 12:37
It is likely to be the IP addresses of the sites you have recently visited. Put an IP up and let us see what it is.
Or try entering the IP number in this site.

http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl