Learning to play a musical instrument - what's a good choice?

At the age of 46, I think I'm ready to learn to play a musical instrument. Is there an easy one to play, or any to avoid? And where's the best for lessons, and to buy an instrument? any advice would be appreciated....thanks

Well, I'm in my *ahem* :blush: forties - I started learning the piano a couple of years ago... I could already read music though, I learned that bit as a child!! I'm really enjoying it - what kind of music do you like??? Is there any instrument, when you were younger, you thought "I'd really like to be able to play that" - then just go for it!!!!!!

At the age of 46, I think I'm ready to learn to play a musical instrument. Is there an easy one to play, or any to avoid? And where's the best for lessons, and to buy an instrument? any advice would be appreciated....thanks

The Piano is a good place to start as the technique is very simple and you can get a reasonable tune out of one easily, on the downside they aren't exactly small.

Bowed and many wind instruments tend to be much more difficult in terms of technique and can take serious work to get a note out of them never mind a tune.

A guitar is relatively cheap, highly portable and relatively easy to get a decent sound out of.

Bass Guitar i'd say, but personally i find them a bit dull to play. Everything will seem frustrating at the start...it's just trying to get over that hill of annoyance to the good bit where you play something you actually recognize.

If you get something big you'll find it easier to get into a band later on :D So avoid flute, clarinet, sax, things like that....

What do you want to learn to play? All instruments have their own advantages and disadvantages, its a case of finding what you want to do. Do you want to play classical music? Strum a few songs? Are you doing it for fun or to challenge yourself?