View Full Version : Is this illegal (Pyramid selling site)


bellis
10-12-2004, 22:46
someone i know has had the misfortune to use the folowing site and lose 40 quid i wont go into details as the site will explain itself but what i want to know is i thought pyramid selling was illegal

http://www.mobiles4all.com/:: ::

Strix
10-12-2004, 22:59
only in this country. It's not a .co.uk site. Is it British?

bellis
10-12-2004, 23:02
Originally posted by Strix
only in this country. It's not a .co.uk site. Is it British?

im presuming it is as theres a button to click on for overseas orders

Strix
10-12-2004, 23:09
Originally posted by panda79
im presuming it is as theres a button to click on for overseas orders sounds even more suspect.

Is she on dial up? hope she's not going to fall victim to one of those dial up viruses too. My dad got one of those. Your computer wakes itself up in the middle of the night and rings overseas premium rate numbers. My mum was watching TV when it switched itself on. They unplug the phone line when not in use now

bellis
10-12-2004, 23:16
Originally posted by Strix
sounds even more suspect.

Is she on dial up? hope she's not going to fall victim to one of those dial up viruses too. My dad got one of those. Your computer wakes itself up in the middle of the night and rings overseas premium rate numbers. My mum was watching TV when it switched itself on. They unplug the phone line when not in use now

no she actually paid 40 quid in the hope of getting a i pod the more you look at that site the more obvious it seems to be a total rip off:rant: :rant: :rant:

muddycoffee
10-12-2004, 23:45
Originally posted by panda79
no she actually paid 40 quid in the hope of getting a i pod the more you look at that site the more obvious it seems to be a total rip off
There are loads of web sites which claim to test your IQ. I think this kind of thing is a much more interesting examination. And a far more valuable test.

I'm sorry to say that she's failed.

JoeP
11-12-2004, 08:56
Originally posted by panda79
someone i know has had the misfortune to use the folowing site and lose 40 quid i wont go into details as the site will explain itself but what i want to know is i thought pyramid selling was illegal

http://www.mobiles4all.com/:: ::

I don't think this site is pushing MLM per se, but it seems an awfully complicated way of buying a phone...:)

I personally wouldn't go there - in terms of getting money back, has the person concerned gone through the process or are they still in the queue waiting to get to the pint of getting their phone? If the latter, the company could argue that they knew what they were getting in to when they signed up.

It's a weird way to do business, but assuming the company is doing exactly what they said they would do, I don't see the problem - time for your friend to read their T&Cs and FAQ.

If this site works, I guess you're trading cash for time and effort in terms of waiting to get to the top and getting referrals in to speed you on your way.

Joe

sccsux
11-12-2004, 16:41
Originally posted by Strix
only in this country. It's not a .co.uk site. Is it British?

The site is British alright:


MOBILES4ALL.COM


SSL Cert: No valid SSL on this Host, Get Secure
Website Status: Active
Reverse IP: Web server hosts 1130 websites (reverse ip tool requires free login)
Server Type: Microsoft-IIS/6.0
IP Address: 213.171.218.26 (ARIN & RIPE IP search)
IP Location: - England - London - Uk's Largest Web Hosting Company
Whois History: 24 records stored
Record Type: Domain Name
Monitor: Monitor or Backorder
Wildcard search: 'mobiles4all' or 'mobiles all' in all domains.
Other TLDs:
.com .net .org .info .biz .us
X X X X [2 available domains]
Name Server: NS1.LIVEDNS.CO.UK NS2.LIVEDNS.CO.UK
ICANN Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
Created: 24-nov-2003
Expires: 24-nov-2006
Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK




Country: UNITED KINGDOM

ARIN says that this IP belongs to RIPE; I'm looking it up there.


Using 22 day old cached answer (or, you can get fresh results).
Hiding E-mail address (you can get results with the E-mail address).

% This is the RIPE Whois tertiary server.
% The objects are in RPSL format.
%
% Rights restricted by copyright.
% See http://www.ripe.net/db/copyright.html

inetnum: 213.171.218.0 - 213.171.219.255
netname: FASTHOSTS-UK-NETWORK
descr: UK's largest web hosting company
descr: based in Gloucester, England
country: GB
admin-c: MW8691-RIPE
tech-c: DS445-RIPE
status: ASSIGNED PA
mnt-by: AS15418-MNT
remarks: report abuse to *****@fasthosts.co.uk
remarks: All reports via other channels will be ignored.
changed: *********@fasthosts.co.uk 20030805
source: RIPE

route: 213.171.192.0/19
descr: FasthostInternet Ltd
origin: AS15418
mnt-by: AS15418-MNT
changed: ***@fasthosts.co.uk 20020113
source: RIPE

route: 213.171.192.0/19
descr: FasthostInternet Ltd
origin: AS2856
mnt-by: BTNET-MNT
mnt-routes: AS15418-MNT
changed: **********@bt.com 20020807
source: RIPE

%ERROR:202: access control limit reached for 69.2.200.182
%
% You have reached the limit of returned contact information objects.
% This connection will be terminated now.
% Continued attempts to return excessive amounts of contact
% information will result in permanent denial of service.
% Please do not try to use CONTACT information in
% the RIPE database for non-operational purposes.
% Refer to http://www.ripe.net/db/copyright.html
% for more information.
.


Try getting in touch with FastHosts (who arn't, actually - fast, that is) and reporting the site if it is in breach of UK trading laws.