View Full Version : Very dodgy AOL email


vidster
02-12-2004, 18:28
I have just been checking my emails when i came across one from AOL asking me to update my Switch payment account details.

They must think i am :loopy:. I don't even pay by credit card!!.
The email was designed to look like an authentic AOL page except it looked about 3 years out of date :suspect:.

I wonder how many AOL user's have actually fallen for this scam?

igm1
02-12-2004, 18:29
You have to be pretty thick to go on AOL neway :P

vidster
02-12-2004, 18:31
Originally posted by IanMitchell
You have to be pretty thick to go on AOL neway :P

Tell me about it!. I did'nt know any better when i subscribed.

D2J
02-12-2004, 18:32
After 12 months tell em where to Shove it :thumbsup:

vidster
02-12-2004, 18:35
Plusnet will receive my phonecall in March :thumbsup:

march
02-12-2004, 18:35
I saw a really good (or bad I suppose) eBay scam email. It said my account had been compromised and I had to go to the link to re-activate my account. Both the email and page it took you too where identical to eBay. I think that will have fooled loads of people.

vidster
02-12-2004, 18:37
Originally posted by march
I saw a really good (or bad I suppose) eBay scam email. It said my account had been compromised and I had to go to the link to re-activate my account. Both the email and page it took you too where identical to eBay. I think that will have fooled loads of people.

Is'nt that called Phising or something?. I read this week that bank's will no longer cover people who fall for such scams.

march
02-12-2004, 18:43
It is indeed called phishing, like fishing but written by a "Computer Geek".

You should have to pass some sort of test like a Driving Test before they let you loose on the Internet, it is so easy to accidentally give all your money to Osama Bin Laden.

missb
02-12-2004, 18:46
I have emails like this from Ebay. Of course I haven't sent the details but I have heard of an unsuspecting person who has. Be warned - DON'T give your details/password etc to any emailers.

scatterheart
02-12-2004, 19:09
I had one from ebay saying my account had been compromised and to click on the link and then login.

I knew straight away it was a fake as the URL of the link was www.blahblah.ebay.co.uk and not www.ebay.co.uk, also ebay will never ask you to sign in via a link in an email.

There's an address you can forward these mails to, I think it is spoof@ebay.co.uk, and they will investigate it. Also there are steps on their website to take if you think you've fallen for a scam mail ;)

ToryCynic
02-12-2004, 19:58
I wouldn't touch AOL with a barge-pole, with their crummy s/w; apparently it has improved now with AOL v.10 - they aren't putting that s/w in the package now. It's bad enough having IE 'personalised': Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by AOL - however this can be changed in the registry easily.

Alex

vidster
02-12-2004, 20:30
What do you mean AOL V10?, i have'nt seen anything about that:?

Sierra
02-12-2004, 20:36
:suspect:

We've received phishing e-mails supposedly from Citibank.

They send those babies out in bulk. Just hit "delete". Problem solved.

Sierra

Martin_s
02-12-2004, 21:36
Rule of thumb...

If anyone ever asks you to visit a link to update your bank/login/waist size details it's about a 99.99999% likelihood that it's a phishing scam...

When in doubt visit the official web site to see if there's any problems actually being reported and deal with it there if needs be.

NEVER, repeat, NEVER click on the link provided in the email because in virtually all cases, it will lead to a very realistic looking spood site that will record your login, etc.. details and happily forward them on to the nice crook waiting at the other end...


Banks and various other ecommerce sites have, in the main adopted a policy of never asking you for your details so paranoia is always a good thing when it comes to the net.. :suspect: