View Full Version : Just not the done thing - bandwidth theft!


DaBouncer
12-11-2004, 23:31
You know when you check your website stats and find that another website is linking to an image on your site?

Well a company was doing that to mine.
Well lets see how long they do it for when they see the 'NEW' image :hihi: :hihi: :hihi:

Linky-thing (http://www.shop-pcs4you.com) :clap:

Edd
12-11-2004, 23:35
:D I like it mate! :hihi: :hihi:

depoix
12-11-2004, 23:37
u bugger u .............

t020
12-11-2004, 23:38
:lol: That's class.

DaBouncer
12-11-2004, 23:38
That'll teach em - cheeky 2@'s

RPG
12-11-2004, 23:40
lol, very good.

Strix
12-11-2004, 23:45
I assume the 'rip off' bit is yours? Nice one. Tell us how long it takes for them to notice? :hihi:

Is there a 'post of the month' competition? I'm nominating you!

DaBouncer
12-11-2004, 23:46
Hell yeah - even took a screenshot for when they notice to immortalise their stupidity :lol:

PIF_Tails
12-11-2004, 23:52
LOL, I like that, this post cheered me up :)

How do you check who links to your website or pictures ?

DaBouncer
12-11-2004, 23:53
I use the statistic logs for my webspace.

It pointed out that their URL was linking to one image on my site so I changed it!

DaBouncer
13-11-2004, 00:05
HA HA - updated the image :lol:

In case people miss the live version - the screenshot is here (http://www.mobileunlocked.co.uk/ripoff2.jpg) :thumbsup: [(contains rude words - beware ;) )]
Original image is here (http://www.mobileunlocked.co.uk/ripoff.jpg)!

Strix
13-11-2004, 00:09
It was funnier without the swearing. It's too obvious now that it shouldn't be there :rolleyes:

DaBouncer
13-11-2004, 00:13
I just didn't feel it was strong enough.
People might come on and not notice (unless they've been pointed to look for something) - now their 'customers' will notice the swearing straight away.

Shame it shrank the BIG image I made - it was a lot better!

JoeP
13-11-2004, 06:42
Nice one!

I've had a few people deep linking to content on sites I've done, but never purely to images. They must have been total dipsticks because all they had to do was lifet the image and host it locally! Cretins!

This is why we should all read the stats from the web server - did you use any tools for spotting that or did you just spot it when scanning through?

Joe

DaBouncer
13-11-2004, 11:57
Joe - I use Matrixstats for my log files and it has an option caled 'scroungers' and it showed me there URL and what they were linking to!

I've updated it now to look more professional!

Jamie
13-11-2004, 12:04
I wonder if it's legally binding, their '£100 cash back offer' !?

Strix
13-11-2004, 12:05
Endless source of amusement! :clap:

Do you think they've had any enquiries yet?

Shall we report them to trading standards? :heyhey:

matsalleh
13-11-2004, 12:06
Nice one I like that.
I recently had a similar experience with a photo I put on a host site (the Pine grove fire). I had only put the link on Sheffield forum, I looked to see how many hits, and there were over a 100 all from this forum.Right in the middle was one from Xanga stood out like a sore thumb.So I went to this site and there was my photo and the guy was answering questions about where and what it was etc. A few quick e-mails about copyright etc soon got it removed. I think he's at Sheffield Uni so if he reads this I would also like to point out that everything on his site appears to be copied,nothing original. I hope some fancy lawyer latches onto you.

DaBouncer
13-11-2004, 12:08
I'd check with someone who's a legal eagle to see if a screenshot would standup in court.
Then since it's on their site they will be legally obliged to pay out.

If anyone can answer this and it's true I'll even buy a few codes myself! ;)

Jamie
13-11-2004, 12:09
Originally posted by Strix
Endless source of amusement! :clap:

Do you think they've had any enquiries yet?

Shall we report them to trading standards? :heyhey:

Wouldn't it be really cool if we could all buy something (for £10) and get the £100 cash back ...

matsalleh
13-11-2004, 12:18
Slightly off topic but I thought I had another picture pinching experience.I took a sunset photo in Penang and saw it on Webshots.Closer inspection showed a very slight difference,so I e-mailed the guy who Lives in Curacao. He was in the same hotel 2 floors above me and must have taken the shot more or less at the same time as sunsets change so fast.Wierd that, we still keep in touch.
No more hijacking of posts.
Cheers

Phanerothyme
13-11-2004, 12:31
ROFLMAO!

Just called them and asked them about the terms and conditions on their £100 cash back offer.

Boy did he sound confused!

I said I was going to talk to trading standards, as I had bought a code, and was now expecting my £100 cashback on a £10 code.

"Ok mate, if it's small claims you want, then you've got it"

"But you don' unnerstand, that image is off someone elses website"

"but I'm looking at it on your website, and YOU are offering £100 cashback on £10 codes"

"No we aren't"

"Yes you are, it says so right here on the front page of your website"

"But that picture is on someone elses website"

"So what is it doing on your website?"
"er"



Sorry I couldn't resist. I expect they will link to another one of your images now DD , or will think better of deep linking to images from other peoples sites

Oh what fun.

DaBouncer
13-11-2004, 12:36
LMAO - Phan draft me a message I can send them basically saying I have evidence of their theft of images on my website and they've broken the copyright terms and I want £xxx and I wont taske them to court.

Yours will probably sound more plausable.

Phanerothyme
13-11-2004, 12:38
the image has gone. That took them about 2 minutes haha.

All you can really do DD, is send them a cease and desist type message. There's no compensation for you in it, and since they have already ceased and desisted, I would consider it closed, they are sending pennies your way after all.

DaBouncer
13-11-2004, 12:38
Nah - I dont expect anything - but something that sounds good might get their backs up.

You never know ;)

Strix
13-11-2004, 12:41
Aww, look DD: They're blowing you kisses :hihi:

Phanerothyme
16-11-2004, 12:29
Well how bout something like this Dirk. Send via registered post, or better still private courier/fedex. Include glossy screenshots and glossy photo's (inkjet prints) of screen shots and [i]picture of several sheets of faked headed notepaper for a virtual ISP, with the legible title "audited referrer data" or somesuch at the top , and columns of data with 90% of the entries highlighted. Then put two illegible signatures at the bottom of each page, clearly visible. Point your finger in the picture to the signatures.


To whom it may concern, as the proprietor of pcs4you.

I am currently advising Mr Dirk Diggler concerning his dismay at the theft of images from his site and the subsequent passing off of these images as belonging to and hosted by pcs4you. (see enclosed).

This is not only in contravention of the copyright act, but also an instance of theft of digital resources (vis. the increased traffic and subsequent bandwidth charges for Mr. Diggler).

Mr Diggler has asked me to communicate to you his intention to pursue this matter through the small claims court in order to provide a speedy resolution to his current financial defecit, and that should you wish to contest his claim to inform him immediately so that legal counsel may be organised.

The same, of course would be true, if you were to make a consideration for his losses.

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me personally by registered post. Unfortunately I cannot enter into email or telephone communication as these lack sufficient verifiability.

Yours

Mr N Theogen,
Personal Adviser to Mr Diggler.

Skatiechik
16-11-2004, 13:18
Did anyone get a screenshot of the £100 cashback image?

dinp
16-11-2004, 13:22
ROFL!!!!!

This thread is the best one i've read in a long time - and ace letter Phan!!!!

Take the buggers to the cleaners :D

dinp
16-11-2004, 13:25
I've just sent them a wee message....

is your site really that poor that it has to scrounge pictures illegally from other sites.

Tut Tut

JoeP
16-11-2004, 13:40
Originally posted by Dirk Diggler
Joe - I use Matrixstats for my log files and it has an option caled 'scroungers' and it showed me there URL and what they were linking to!

I've updated it now to look more professional!

That's neat!

Love some of these ideas - will definitely put them in to action if the need ever arises.

Should think they got the message....;)

Joe

Sidla
16-11-2004, 15:00
What was the £100 cash-back offer?

Martin_s
16-11-2004, 15:09
Originally posted by Sidla
What was the £100 cash-back offer?
DB put up a nifty little replacement image that indicated they had a special £100 cash back offer on...

Gave me a fair few chuckles this past couple of days... :)

Strix
19-01-2005, 12:20
Looks like their website has disappeared altogether!

I wonder why? :hihi:

Grim
19-01-2005, 22:45
Originally posted by DaBouncer
I use the statistic logs for my webspace.

It pointed out that their URL was linking to one image on my site so I changed it!

you can do this automatically via .htaccess, see http://wsabstract.com/howto/htaccess10.shtml

Andy