Sign in to follow this  

Places near the M1

Hello,

Just wondered if anyone knew anywhere suitable to live near junction 30 of the M1. My partner and I are moving to Sheffield and need somewhere for him to join the M1 to commute to Derby.

If anyone out there is doing a similar commute - is is manageable ?.

Thanks for your help,

Claire

Hi Claire,

I am new to the Sheffield area, moved here 2 weeks back due to hubby's job. He commutes into Sheffield so I can't help too much on the drive down to Derby but we are living just off J31 in Kiveton Park and did look at all the areas from J29 - J34 and as we are not city people and wanted to be close to the M1 so chose this are.

We did look at Clowne, Barlborough, Killamarsh & Staveley, I would recommend looking back at all the previous posts as there was one listing good and bad areas but I really feel it's best to look at a place and get the feel for it yourself if that's possible. Not necessarily my opinion but some here said Killamarsh had a car crime problem, I don't like the feel of it but that's just me.

Barlborough has a new development of homes, very big and nice if that's where your budget is I think these are up to £300K with older properties at £140K+. Clowne is close and I thought was nice but not much to it.

If you can afford the extra time I think if you look around J31 there will be more options and you will find property for a lower budget.

After only 2 weeks here I am still learning but if you want any info on J31 areas post here or pm me and will do my best to help.

Cheers,

Belinda

Don't take this as a criticism, but I'm curious as to why you're buying in Sheffield when he's working in Derby ?

Yeah. The motorway is a b*tch all the way down from J30 to Derby.

Clare,

Theres a new housing development (still under development) just off Junction 30 in Renishaw village. The houses there are quite pricey thought buts its just under 2 miles off the M1.....:D