View Full Version : Is this web site to be trusted...?


fortylicks
14-01-2007, 14:04
http://www.shoppingspreeonus.co.uk

Anyone know?!

FORTY :P

JoeP
14-01-2007, 14:06
My usual comment here is TANSTAAFL.....

Chances are, soemwhere in that site you either have to by something, sign up to a service, or sign away your soul in a Faustian deal. :)

fox20thc
14-01-2007, 14:06
its alot of hassle.

Rich
14-01-2007, 14:10
I would recommend leaving it well alone... I get enough spam in my gmail account as it is without this ruddy thing sending me "offers" for stuff I don't want such as insurance etc constantly.

And remember that old Yorkshire saying "Tha don't gerr owt for nowt", it springs to mind for definite in this case, if something is offered as "free", 99.99 times out of 100 there's a catch to it.

Sora
14-01-2007, 14:10
if you read the print at the bottom it's a promo/referal site

Registration

Short Survey

Bonus Freebies and Offers
Find a few more special items that could be of great interest to you.

Complete your choice of sponsored offers.
the following sponsored offers: two (2) offers from Silver Offers, two (2) offers from Gold Offers, and two (2) offers on Platinum Offers.

Referral Requirement:
You must also refer at least one (1) unique households, must join and complete the required number of offers...

so basically it's a massive hassle

JoeP
14-01-2007, 14:13
Sora....that's obviously the 'Faustian Deal' bit. :)

First glance it looks like Tesco are being nice, doesn't it? Red, white and blue typeface....for soem reason I immediately thought 'Tesco'.

Hecate
14-01-2007, 14:15
....must join and complete the required number of offers...

so basically it's a massive hassle
Which appear to include signing up to, activating and making a purchase on various credit cards, and purchasing 'high speed internet access'.

Sounds like an expensive lot of hassle too.

Sora
14-01-2007, 14:18
Which appear to include signing up to, activating and making a purchase on various credit cards, and purchasing 'high speed internet access'.

Sounds like an expensive lot of hassle too.

i never looked at what the offers were, as soon as i see compulsary 'offers' it always reminds me of those dodgy book clubs that you got 3 books for 75p and then you had to buy 1 a month at full price for the rest of your life

Hecate
14-01-2007, 14:26
i never looked at what the offers were, as soon as i see compulsary 'offers' it always reminds me of those dodgy book clubs that you got 3 books for 75p and then you had to buy 1 a month at full price for the rest of your life
Some of the possible offers are mentioned in the 'program requirements' popup box, under the 'what does complete actually mean?' section.

If it isn't dodgy, it certainly seems to suggest that participation won't be free or indeed cheap.

sccsux
14-01-2007, 14:34
I love this (from the privacy policy):

ONCE INFORMATION IS RECEIVED, HOW IS IT USED AND SHARED?

We may use the collected information for any legally permissible purpose in our sole discretion, including but not limited to customer service, to provide you with products, services or information you have requested, to customize your user experience, for internal business purposes, and for marketing purposes, including our online and offline programs and services.

Basically means they'll sell the data to anyone (providing it is legal).

JoeP
14-01-2007, 14:35
I love this (from the privacy policy):



Basically means they'll sell the data to anyone (providing it is legal).

Who needs Big Brother when you've got this sort of thing?

I wonder how many people WILL sign up, though? That's what's pretty frightening.

sccsux
14-01-2007, 14:48
Who needs Big Brother when you've got this sort of thing?

Imagine if a UK business had a web PP like that:o. They'd soon be gone (or forced to have an acceptable PP).


I wonder how many people WILL sign up, though?

Hopefully, none. But you can be certain some will:(.


That's what's pretty frightening.

It's almost as scary as Googles cookie retention period:D.


After a little investigating I've found the site itself is registered to a US marketing consultancy so the selling on of details is pretty much guaranteed:(.

fortylicks
14-01-2007, 14:59
You guys have just echoed what I was thinking really... but yeah it is horrible to think that some people will actually sign up for this stuff and get sucked in.

The only thing is it was a banner add on a reputable web site, which is why I was unsure...!!

Hmmmm... stuff like this needs stripping off the net completely, such a shame that people will be drawn to this thinking that they will actually get £250 to spend at one of these stores.

It's probably vouchers/coupons off.... £2 off a Dyson or something LOL