JohnnyBoy
19-12-2006, 23:06
Hi, I've been told about a site called gomusic.ru that offers cheap mp3 downloads. I've been told it is legal as russian copyright laws aren't the same as the UKs.
I've done a google but couldn't find anything for certain. Do you know if it is legal?
cheers
I think with all these Russian sites, they're legal to use IF you're in Russia - their copyrights laws only apply in Russia however. So would be just as illegal here as downloading for free, but not as good value :hihi:
alternageek
19-12-2006, 23:29
I think the RIAA just shut down some russian sites as they were taking a **** out of the copyright laws.
Stick to iTunes
Hi, I've been told about a site called gomusic.ru that offers cheap mp3 downloads. I've been told it is legal as russian copyright laws aren't the same as the UKs.
I've done a google but couldn't find anything for certain. Do you know if it is legal?
cheers
Probably not IMO.
But then again the RIAA are a bunch of clueless jobsworths who don't know what they're on about half the time.
I think that in the event of your computer ever being analysed by the pirating police, having mp3s from this sort of source would be extremely frowned upon, even if they can't find anything to charge you with.
Hi, I've been told about a site called gomusic.ru that offers cheap mp3 downloads. I've been told it is legal as russian copyright laws aren't the same as the UKs.
I've done a google but couldn't find anything for certain. Do you know if it is legal?
cheers
No. It isn't.
The Russians have not signed any of the international conventions on copyright and so their 'licenses' are not recognised in any countries that have signed up.
LibertyBell
15-01-2008, 06:33
UPDATE?
Does anyone know if the status of this site has changed?
Is it safe / legal ?