Would anyone let me observe their baby??

Hi there, unusual request I know, but I have to find a baby to observe as part of my Masters degree. I need to find a family who would be willing to let me observe their baby for an hour a week for (gulp..) two years. I am doing a Masters in Infant Observation, at the Northern School of Child and Adolescent Psychotherapy, based in leeds. I have to find a family I don't know, who are either going to give birth imminently, or who have a baby under 4 weeks old. If anyone is interested, please give me a call for more info or to ask questions - no obligation to go for it! My number is 0114 2784865 or e-mail me at joyfrench@hotmail.co.uk.

Thanks!

Hi Joy - Perhaps it would help if you posted details of your course and a contact of your tutor where anyone who would be prepared to let you observe their child could contact them to verify this. You could also offer a CRB check/references.

You could also give more information about what exactly and when you would be observing, what your hypothesis is and what you are wanting to achieve in your studies.

I.e any particular time of day?

Eating/sleeping/sociliasing/outings etc. My baby is now 10 weeks old - but these would be the sorts of questions I would be asking anyone wanting to study my family!!!

Hope this helps - but I know how difficult it can be to find research subjects and the more information you offer, the easier it tends to be!

Hi Liose,