View Full Version : The link to Sheffield Forum from digicity


karl101
25-07-2004, 16:13
Have you seen this site: http://www.sheffield.digicity.org.uk

It links to sheffield forum, which is good. But the link leaves a frame at the top of the page, and the URL in the address bar remains digicity's.

This implies that the forum is part of this digicity. I think thats wrong.

What do you think?

They've done the same with a web page of mine. does anyone know how to get rid of this frame? probably with javascript or somthing.

Sidla
25-07-2004, 16:44
It's pretty obvious that this site is not part of digicity by looking at the logo, but I would imagine Geoff won't be too pleased about it all the same.

I'm sure there would be a way around the problem. The only solution I can think of off the top of my head it to have a meta tag in your pages which redirects somewhere with target="_top" or target="_blank".

JoeP
25-07-2004, 16:49
It's bad form of digicity to link in such a way.

They also have a weird use of English in places....who are they, anyway?

Joe

karl101
25-07-2004, 17:08
Originally posted by JoePritchard
It's bad form of digicity to link in such a way.

They also have a weird use of English in places....who are they, anyway?

Joe

a quick look on Nominet says they're from the Netherlands: http://195.66.240.211/cgi-bin/whois.cgi?query=digicity.org.uk&x=15&y=11

Wolwevershorst 114
Apeldoorn
7328NW
NL

they appear to have every major town/city covered, eg: http://www.leicester.digicity.org.uk/

Wouldn't a search engine crawling thier site see this one as being thiers?.... that'll be a yes then: http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&ie=UTF-8&c2coff=1&q=%22sheffield+forum%22+digicity&btnG=Search&meta=

JoeP
25-07-2004, 17:15
Ya beat me to it!

Just put my WHOIS hat on and you're there already.

And you're right about that link - the way that that link is structured would get search engines convinced that anything linked is part of their empire.

Also, the use of 'org' does have that sort of semi-official feel to it, whereas in actual fact they just appear to be a commercial directory outfit with a few links to obvious sites.

I'm grumpy.....:-)