Do you compost?

.. and what method do you use?

Did you buy a plastic bin, or have you built your own?

What do you 'feed' it, and what do you use as an activator?

Any tips? (especially for a beginner ;) )

I got one of the £4 compost bins from the Sheffield City Council (Link here, go to 'offers in my area'). It's a plastic bin - not bad, although it's quite difficult to get in there and turn the compost over properly.

I haven't used an activator - I started when the weather was really warm, so thought I could probably get away without one. This winter is a different story however, so I'm on the look out for a good organic activator (if such a thing even exists - I'm new to composting too!).

I got a free kitchen caddy with mine, so we collect up all of the veggie peelings etc and they go into the composter. My tip would be to be sure that you get a good mix of 'greens' (cut grass, veg peelings, green leaves, etc) and browns (cardboard / torn up egg boxes, brown leaves, shedded (non glossy) paper) - when I first started I just chucked in loads of 'fresh' stuff and it soon got very mushy and wet :gag: I'm a little more careful to make sure I get layers of 'drier' things too now!

Isn't urine an activator Tracie?

LOL - yep, apparently it is! - I had a Google after I posted this morning and urine was indeed on the list of suggested organic activators :P

For the rather more faint of heart (such as myself :P) I also found an compost activator called 'Organica' which claims to be completely organic :thumbsup: (it's the first hit on Google, seems a lot of places supply it!)

Has anyone on here had any success building their own compost bin?

How organic is anything that comes in packaging and/or has to be transported Tracie?

*mumbles something about global warming*

Get yourself a big jug or an antique chamber pot ;)