Sign in to follow this  

Wireless Connections [ASK AN EXPERT]

Anyone know how to configure a wirless home network?

I recently got a new laptop with a built in WiFi card.

Now I've just got a Wireless USB connector for my Desktop and need to configure them so I can share my ADSL connection etc.

I'm a complete newbie so I need ALL the help you guys can provide me.

Cheers

DB

Have you got a wireless router. I'm pretty sure I just followed the instructions enclosed, and it was straightforward, well it'd have to be if I managed it.

You orobably need an ADSL router to share connections.

Get the Binatone ADSL router for £60 from Argos... Plug one end of each connection from your desktop and your laptop into the router, and Bob's your second cousin twice removed, on your mother's side :D

are both machines running XP?

If so use the internet connection wizard to share the adsl connection from your desktop to your laptop (the wizard will sort it all out).

This approach means that the desktop must be on to provide access to the laptop.

The better alternative is to purchase and ADSL wireless router. This will provide a wireless connection to either or both machines without worrying about which one is on or off.

Yeah both running XP... but I can't seem to get the connecting to each other bit out of the way first!:(

Id like to ask a question about wireless things. I am going to be moving soon to somewhere with no phone line but i still need the net. Would this solve my problem or am i just being an idiot? Would i need to spend hundreds to get a special whatsit or other to get it connected. Im an even newbier newbie as i know absolutely NOTHING about it and if i search the net all i get is web boffin sites that i dont understand.

The wireless things work a bit like a cordless phone - you plug a "base station" into your phone line and a wireless "card" into your PC. Then your PC can use the phone line without being plugged into a phone socket.