View Full Version : Is Napster safe to install?


GabbleRatcht
13-04-2006, 13:05
I've found a long forgotten track available on Napster.

I have no intention of joining but they do a free 7 day trail, so I could listen to it and maybe a few more I had forgotten about.

But is it safe? i.e. is it P2P software?

If so, no chance.

Or is it like iTunes music store?

Ta.

Rich
13-04-2006, 13:43
It used to be P2P, and for the most part still is.. But apparently you have to pay for it now and can only get legal music from it.

Personally though I've stopped using P2P software, too much crap, renamed files that aren't what they're supposed to be, and too many nasty viruses and Trojans.

GabbleRatcht
13-04-2006, 13:50
I agree about P2P, you are asking for trouble. That's why I ask.

It looks like a ligit shop but the word ' share ' is mentioned also.

Skatiechik
13-04-2006, 13:50
I would be wary of it, not in the software sense it is a legitimate business nowadays.

But when you download/purchase music, you are only purchasing the licence to play it not the actual track so as soon as you stop your membership the music goes too.

GabbleRatcht
13-04-2006, 13:52
I would be wary of it, not in the software sense it is a legitimate business nowadays.

But when you download/purchase music, you are only purchasing the licence to play it not the actual track so as soon as you stop your membership the music goes too.

Ah, so I might try the trail then. Just to listen for old times sake!

marmite
15-04-2006, 11:15
cant u get a mate to get it for you if they use p2p?

innout
15-04-2006, 11:20
why not try http://www.morpheus.com, i have used it for a while, and never had a problem

xafier
15-04-2006, 11:58
Umm, I think P2P discussion isn't allowed on this site, period. As for naptster I believe it was bought and is now a legitimate seller...

whats the track/album your after? I can find almost anything :) (apart from all the Vengeance albums!!) I have an EXTREMLY good source for music, but it's invite only :P

GabbleRatcht
15-04-2006, 13:00
You are right, it is in the sticky.

Sorry mods.

But I was asking if it was still P2P, and then stating that I wouldn't use it if it was.

Sorry again :)

GabbleRatcht
15-04-2006, 13:12
Yes, it appears you only buy a license to play the tracks you download. So if you stop subscribing you can't play what you have bought.

What use is that?!

Ah well, having a free trawl for a few days has brought up loads of stuff I had forgotten about!

Will just have to try the other options you have given me.

Thanx guys.

Savannah2
15-04-2006, 14:00
Have you had a look at this site for Cheap music (http://www.allofmp3.com/) albums from $1

martss
15-04-2006, 14:52
So if you cancel your membership, does that mean you cant legally listen to the music you have downloaded, or does it mean the music files wont play at all?

melthebell
15-04-2006, 14:54
So if you cancel your membership, does that mean you cant legally listen to the music you have downloaded, or does it mean the music files wont play at all?
if you try to play em a bolt of lightening comes down fro the sky and strikes you dead

errm or something

melthebell
15-04-2006, 14:55
Have you had a look at this site for Cheap music (http://www.allofmp3.com/) albums from $1

isnt that that legally dubious site? ie:- in no mans land between legal and illegal?

GabbleRatcht
15-04-2006, 15:24
So if you cancel your membership, does that mean you cant legally listen to the music you have downloaded, or does it mean the music files wont play at all?

I've moved a file to another 'puter without Napster installed and WMP won't play it. It says you need a license.

At least if you buy a song on iTunes, it's yours. Napster at £10 ish a month to play stuff you have already bought, I don't think so!

rich951
16-04-2006, 17:30
isnt that that legally dubious site? ie:- in no mans land between legal and illegal?
It's never been entirely decided how legal it is :) But if you're making a decision on moral grounds you shouldn't be using it however legal it is - artists certainly won't be getting any money out of it, the only people who do are the russian mafia!

On the plus side, it's a handy way to get music encoded the way you want it and also nicely tagged...

xafier
16-04-2006, 21:04
allofmp3.com isn't legal, the it was a grey area for a while... till the organization for russia changed, now it is illegal...

also, a lot of their music is transcoded, so its not as good a quality as you assume... of course that only matters to people that are audio freaks, like me lol

personally I get all my music either from CD's I buy or a private bittorrent tracker that has an insane amount of music and its all available at 192kbps or better :) theres a lot of FLAC and APE lossless on it lately, which is great :D

I have a few invites available for people who are genuinly interested, but its a private tracker meaning you need to keep a good ratio so you don't get banned and deleted ;)